Welcome to my world, won’t you come on in.


So, this is my first blog.

Phew, took me hours to set this thing up for starters – not as easy as expected.

What can you expect from my blog? Well, I’m neurotic and may use this blog to vent from time to time. There may be random musings and rants depending on my mood. I Tweet but sometimes 14o characters just isn’t enough!

I love reading so expect plenty of book reviews. I enjoy going to the cinema, when there’s anything worth seeing, is it just me or is there nothing on? I watch a lot of tv so I will be writing about that too. I live in Newcastle but enjoy going out and about to Northumberland regularly so there’s likely to be pictures and stories.

I’m highly curious about the world. I don’t claim to know a lot about it but I may share what I do know here. I’m interested in current affairs and politics too.

I’ve been to New York once before and it truly captured my heart so I am hoping to go back there soon. I’ve visited Oman twice (look it up if you don’t know where it is). I’ve been on the usual packages to Spain, Greece and Bulgaria and I’ve been skiing in France once. I’d like to see more, as well as know more, of the UK and beyond.

I was Evening Chronicle’s Young Reviewer of the Year 2008-2009 where I spent much of my free time reviewing shows, books, concerts, plays, CDs and gigs. A lot of my reviews have been used on people’s websites (yes, I am very complimentary at times). I have a BA in Media, Communication & Cultural Studies from Newcastle Uni and an MA in Creative Writing from Northumbria Uni. I’d love to do a PhD some day. I’m inquisitive and love to learn – I’m a geek and proud of it.

I believe in Ideals not Idols but I do have many role models, some people are worth holding in high esteem. I hate our modern-day celeb culture where people are celebrated for having sordid relations with Z-Listers. What about people who can actually make a difference to the world? What happened to literature being celebrated? Why are people publishing books about the meerkat?! Why not write about someone like Rosa Parks or someone equally interesting? Why are people from Big Brother getting their own TV shows? I feel that currently TV, among other things, pander to the less educated in society. I don’t care who’s had sex with whom – I care about who’s going to make reforms to benefit the common good. I care about who’s going to save innocent civilians being killed or who’s going to stand up for the vulnerable people in societies.

Feel free to comment and get involved, tell me what you want to know or see on this blog, your wish is my command 😉

Vic x

Vic in Hot Springs, Oman

Leave a Reply

