They say a picture is worth a thousand words…..


But I think it is worth so much more.

Tonight, The Boy Wonder and I have been looking through photos from our childhoods. And what a pleasant evening it’s been. I’ve seen both myself and TBW as babies tonight, did I need anymore assistance in feeling broody?! No!

Last week, TBW’s granddad was showing me photos from several generations earlier which I thought it was mindblowing. Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve always loved looking at photographs. Perhaps it’s the innate desire inside me to know the stories behind the pictures. I now take pictures as inspiration, so if I see something unusual or unique I can capture it and hopefully a story will come from there.

Looking through those photo albums, arranged by his parents, made me think of all the things we forget with the passing of time. Lots of people don’t remember their childhoods very well. My earliest memory is from about age 2 which is quite unusual.

When I was younger, I used to have a photographic memory; you could literally take me somewhere new, in a part of the country I’d never been before, but if we made the same journey a year later I could tell you exactly how to get there again. That, sadly, has faded somewhat with age although not entirely.

After looking at the photos tonight, I think it’s important to make a note of where, when and with whom the photos are taken – these things are all too easily forgotten and what a real pity that is.

Photos are also a really useful tool if you live away from your family or want to jog someone’s memory.

Looking at those photos, from my christening (as a baby) up until my holiday to Oman earlier this year really perked me up. What wonderful times I’ve had.

I could wax lyrical for hours about how beautiful The Hot Springs in Nakhal, Oman are or I could just post a picture and I know you will understand immediately.

Vic x

Leave a Reply

