Things for consideration.


While visiting The Boy Wonder’s family in Oman earlier this year, I had a lot of time to consider on where I would like my life to go from now. I had recently graduated from my Masters and am still interested in the idea of doing a PhD but I realised, during the beginning of the uprisings in Egypt and Tunisia, I didn’t know anywhere near enough about Islam.

I have a curious mind and I want to learn as much as possible. However, I do also have a busy mind that I sometimes find difficult to quiet.

During my time in Oman, I spent a lot of time driving to and from wonderful places – like the highest peak in Oman and the natural sink hole. During this time, as both passenger and driver, I found my mind wandering to new adventures. Although I am not the kind of girl to strap on some hiking books and a rucksack, I want to be challenged. I loved this trip to Oman because of all of the out-of-character experiences I enjoyed. So I wrote a list of things I would like to learn more about. Some of them are things I can simply educate myself about with the right literature, some are things I am considering taking courses in. As well as learning, I want to be able to relax and enjoy silence. I also still have an eye on my future career too. Beneath this paragraph is the list copied verbatim. Sadly I haven’t done very much of anything as I became poorly a week after returning home.

Things I would like to do when I get home:

  1. Go to yoga class.
  2. Find meditation classes.
  3. Learn more about Islam.
  4. Learn more about Buddhism.
  5. Learn about the history of Oman.
  6. Find out about an economics course.
  7. Take a philosophy course
  8. Enquire about TEFL.
  9. Consider 7303 (adult education course).

I am still determined to do these things, just perhaps not all at once and not right now. Life is short, we have to make the most of what we have. What’s your next step?

Vic x

2 responses to “Things for consideration.

  1. That’s a great list – and I think ‘not all at once’ is a good idea! When I’m intimidated by massive amounts of things to do, my mum always tells me “the best way to eat an elephant is in little bites”!
    I really want to try meditation and look into economics too, but as you know it’s very hard to actually get oneself to *do* things sometimes…x

  2. Pingback: What do Those In The Know know? « Somewhere Along This Line

Leave a Reply

