LeAnn Rimes: How can she live without food?


As a woman, I have my fair amount of issues with food and body image. I would like to lose a couple of stone but that really isn’t realistic for me at the moment.

However, I feel that we are bombarded with images of unhealthily skinny women and told which diets they are supposedly on. Very few newspapers and magazines actually tell the truth: most of these women have eating disorders.

Magazines may say they’re simply relying on what the women themselves say. And I remember, as a sixteen-year-old girl reading an interview in Heat magazine where Victoria Beckham said she’d lost so much weight after having her first baby, Brooklyn, simply because she was so busy. She said she ate a lot of crisps and had full meals on an evening. I stupidly believed this. I didn’t realise at the time, like most addicts, sufferers of anorexia and bullemia lie. The hardest part is admitting you have a problem.

This week, I’ve seen possibly the most disturbing celebrity pictures I’ve ever seen. LeAnn Rimes (pictured above), famous due to her 1998 nightmare ‘How Do I Live Without You?’ and subsequently ‘Can’t Fight The Moonlight’, is on honeymoon and is busy showing off her new figure. Which I’m sure she claims she has through healthy eating and exercise. I’m sorry, no matter how she got that way, someone needs to intervene before she does herself some serious harm.

Anorexia can lead to complications; your skin can become seriously damaged, you can suffer from problems with your bowels (constipation or diarrhea), your periods could stop entirely which may make having a family difficult or impossible, you may get cavities or lose teeth, as well as your organs ceasing to function. Anorexia can cause organ damage and/or failure and therefore could seriously kill you. That’s what the magazines don’t tell you.

I would like to see a healthier approach to women’s weight. Being bombarded with pictures like this, and lies as to how these women became so thin, is not right. People perpetuating these myths need to take responsibility.

And just for the record, men don’t find the skeletal look attractive either!

Vic x

Leave a Reply

