Too tall for love? No way!


It has been reported today that Stephen Merchant, Ricky Gervais’s side-kick (the one that isn’t Karl Pilkington), has said that at six-foot-seven he thinks he’s too tall for love.

What nonsense! But I have to admit, at nearly six-foot myself, there was a time when I believed that I was too tall to find a boyfriend.

When I was eighteen, my five foot seven boyfriend dumped me and I realised that, in the future, I wouldn’t be dating someone shorter than me. I decided that, ideally, I’d like to have a boyfriend who was tall enough to still be taller than me should I decide to model one of my many pairs of high-heeled shoes. This seemed quite an ask.

Height was just another requirement on an ever-growing list. Along with intelligence, humour, manners, kindness, similar morals and beliefs, I thought a man with these qualities would be impossible to find.

But then I met The Boy Wonder and I realised that whatever you are looking for does exist but you have to be patient. Stephen says he’s looking for a woman “with the body of Kelly Brook and the mind of Stephen Fry”. If I wasn’t with TBW, I’d be very interested in the fact that Mr Merchant was single – but then again, I don’t have a body like Kelly Brook.

Vic x

Leave a Reply

