Daily Archives: November 15, 2011

Getting to know you: Darren Sant.

It’s my pleasure to welcome my good friend and fellow blogger Darren Sant to the blog today. Enjoy!

Welcome Daz, tell us about your series, The Longcroft Estate.

The Longcroft estate could be the housing estate down the road from you. I try to
tell stories without pretension. I want to speak to everyday people about everyday deeds in such a way that it’s entertaining. I like the idea of a setting that is realistic.  I try to include enough different elements within the stories to keep the reader entertained on more than one level.

What inspires you to write?

A variety of things. Sometimes it is a song line or an idea that just pops into my head. Sometimes it is a brief snippet of dialogue will pop into my head that I then develop. I’m constantly inspired by what I read.  

Do you have time to read? If so, what are you reading at the moment?

I don’t have time to read as much as I’d like to but I do find the time for a little each day. I am currently reading ‘Heartbreaker’ by Julie Morrigan and ‘One Dead Hen’ by Charlie Williams. In between the novels I read lots of short stories and anthologies.

Do you have a favourite all-time read?

‘The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy’ by Douglas Adams. It never fails to make me laugh and I have re-read it several times. There was a depth to his humour that no one can come close to except perhaps Terry Pratchett.  

Which author(s) would you say have most influenced your writing?

Humorists and storytellers like Stephen King, Robert Heinlein, Asimov, Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett.

Are you working on anything new at the moment?

I always have a number of projects on the go. I’m working on various short stories and a new anthology.

Where can you be found online?

All over the place! Like a bad rash or something. Twitter: @groovydaz39 and @Longcroft_Tales.

My Blog: Daz’s Short Book Reviews – http://santsrants.blogspot.com/

My website: http://darrensant-writer.yolasite.com/

I can also be found blogging for Close To The Bone: http://www.craigrobertdouglas.com

What do you most like about writing?

I like turning an idea into a first draft worthy of keeping. I love to tell a story.

What do you dislike?

I am an impatient person so I hate laborious editing. I know the value of it but
having several thousand words to hone into something magical is a daunting task when you’ve had a long day at work.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Be patient. Rome wasn’t built in a day. Things take time to gain momentum and unless you are Stephen King your book/story isn’t likely to sell thousands of copies overnight. Enjoy the ride, hone your craft and listen to the advice of your peers. Above all believe in yourself.  

What are your strengths and weaknesses as a writer?

My strengths are that I write “tightly” and have the ability to say a lot within a
few words. I am also told that I write good dialogue. My weakness is definitely grammar. I make too many mistakes and I don’t self-edit as tightly as I could. If I were to submit a novel that would one very hard
working editor!

How do you feel about the rise of the e-book and e-book publishers?

Great for the reader. Great for the writer. Bad for print publishers.

Describe for our readers the genre(s) you write in and why they appeal to you as a writer.

I’m coming to think of myself as a multi-genre writer. I seem to be able to turn
my hand to science fiction, horror, and humour. However, my first love is urban
noir tales. I like to write about dark deeds.

Big thanks to Darren for taking the time to talk to me today.

Vic x

