Daily Archives: November 30, 2011

A cause close to my heart.

As an only child until the age of six and a half, I enjoyed the company of lots of people – witches, caterpillars, crocodiles, twits and more. OK, so these people were fictional and appeared in books but it doesn’t mean they didn’t shape my life.

Since I was able to read, I have never been without a book. Even now, one of the most important items in my bag (no matter where I’m going) is my Kindle. I read every day. My biggest nightmare is losing the ability to read.

What worries me, though, are the recent statistics regarding children growing up in households without books (see my post from June this year: http://wp.me/p1yV8g-6z).

I was thrilled earlier this week when I found a user on Twitter called @burdzeyeview who is also tweeting as @xmasbooksfrkids. The woman behind these profiles is Kate Higgins from Scotland. Kate works for a charity called Children 1st (http://www.children1st.org.uk/) and she realises that not every child is as lucky as she or I. That’s why she’s set up a donation page to ensure that Children 1st can provide books to children whose parents can’t afford books or lack the confidence to read with their children.

As many of you already know, this year instead of sending Christmas cards, I am sending the money I usually spend on cards to a charity. This charity has got my support.

Please check out Kate’s page and donate as much as you can (remember to Gift Aid your donation too): http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundraiser-web/fundraiser/showFundraiserProfilePage.action?userUrl=KateHiggins1

Vic x

Getting to know you: Jynnipher Olbert

Tell people you are a writer and the next question they ask is what type of book you write. I tell them paranormal romance and I get varied responses. Some ask what that means and others ask if my books are like Twilight. My first response to the latter question generally is that my vamps don’t sparkle. Don’t let my comment fool you. I enjoy the world Ms. Meyer has created because it led me back to a genre I had forgotten about in the midst of my Harry Potter infatuation.

 

My passion for reading stemmed from growing up an only child as I relied on my fictional friends when the weather wouldn’t allow me to go outside and play with my real ones. My parents learned about a summer reading program our local library hosted and immediately signed me up. Summer after summer I read more books than they had space for on the forms.

In my late teens/early twenties, I watched television shows like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Charmed, and Angel, so naturally I would enjoy reading about vampires and witches. I joined the Harry Potter bandwagon shortly after the release of the third in the series. The next four releases I went to the midnight release party at various retailers and had read the new release before the sun rose.

On a whim last October, I signed up for the National Novel Writing Month along with my best friend. For those of you who don’t know, NaNoWriMo is a fun and fast approach to writing. The goal is write 50,000 words between November 1 and November 30. If you manage to keep your sanity and achieve the word count goal you get a nifty little certificate and a web badge to plaster everywhere letting the world know you spent thirty days with your fingers to the keyboard.

It was during that month I discovered writing. With the help of my writing music, Enigma mostly, I reached the goal long before the end of the month and by mid-December had finished my first draft of Vision of the Moons with a word count of 120,000. Since then my fingers have rarely missed a day (or two) tapping away at the keyboard.

My Vision series is about two supernatural races that live among humans in Boston, one of my favorite cities. The first novel, Vision of the Moons, is about Madi, a vampire with some body image issues, and Gavin, who is following his passion for cooking instead of his legacy.  They both discover that life can change in the blink of an eye. What they don’t realize, though, is that their meeting changes the course of the two races forever, and someone close to them saw it all coming.

My website is http://jynnipher.com/. I am also on Twitter, @jynnipherolbert and Facebook, Jynnipher Olbert, Author.

I have completed the first draft of book two, ‘Vision of the Hearts’. I am midway through the third book, ‘Vision of Souls’. I hope to have the full Vision of the Moons completed by late winter.

Wow, that’s quite an aim – well done Jynnipher! Thanks again for sharing your story with me today.

Vic x