Getting to Know You: Stuart Ayris.


Today I’m pleased to welcome Stuart Ayris to the blog. I hope you will enjoy the interview! Vic x

Hi Stuart, welcome to the blog. Tell us how you got into writing.

I guess like many people it was reading that first drew me to the possibility of writing. When I was a child I read everything I could get my hands on, raiding my mum and dad’s bookshelf from an early age! When I went toSeniorSchoolit seemed that English was about the only subject that I felt at all comfortable with and one of the only subjects I achieved a qualification in. And I think the other thing that has got me into writing is the long held belief that there must be something more to all this life business!

Describe to our readers the genre you write in and why that genre appeals to you as a writer.

Now the issue of genres is something I have struggled with in terms of pigeon-holing my work! I suppose the simple answer is that there are elements of various genres within my novels including mystery, drama, magical realism and humour. I guess a cop out would be to say it is ‘literary fiction’ or ‘contemporary fiction.’ I see genres perhaps as a necessary evil. I don’t believe that anything should be quantified or qualified just so that it fits in with what is understood by the system but I can understand why the concept of genres exists. Hope that makes sense!

Where can we find your work?

My first novel, ‘A Cleansing of Souls’, can be found on Amazon and other online bookselling sites. My second novel, ‘Tollesbury Time Forever’, will be published on Kindle in early February 2012.

Where can we find you online?
I have a blog which tracks the development and publication of Tollesbury Time Forever at http://tollesburytimeforever.blogspot.com/ and a website (which is gradually evolving!) at http://www.stuartayrisbooks.co.uk/ 

Do you have time to read?
I read every day – even if it’s just a few pages! I generally read in the bath or in bed. Sometimes I even treat myself to laying on the settee and reading – now that’s a real pleasure of life!

What are you reading at the moment?
I often have two or three books on the go but at the moment I am coming to the end of ‘The Honourable Schoolboy’ by John Le Carre.

Do you have a favourite all-time read?
That’s kind of like the old favourite song thing – it can change depending on what life is like at the time etc. I would at the moment say ‘The Dharma Bums’ by Jack Kerouac.

Which authors would you say have had the most influence on your writing?
In no particular order I would say Jack Kerouac, John Steinbeck, John Irving and Kahlil Gibran.

Are you working on anything new at the moment?

I am in the process of doing the final edit for ‘Tollesbury Time Forever’ at the moment. I am also about thirteen thousand words into my next novel which is tentatively entitled ‘The Bird That Nobody Sees’. It’s about a midget, an angel, two drunks and a murderer. Now as for the genre….

What are your hopes for the future?
To live as simple and self-sufficient life as I possibly can. In terms of writing it would be just to keep on keeping on!

What do you most like about writing?
I think it is the excitement when it all starts to come together and the pleasure you get when you read something you have written and can say out loud “blimey – that’s good!”

What do you most dislike about writing?
That would have to be the whole synopsis, submissions thing!

What are your strengths as a writer?

I have confidence in the way I write which I guess is a strength. I have a rather odd imagination and seem to be able to tie various storylines together in quite a satisfying way.

What are your weaknesses as a writer?

My seeming inability to write anything that may be considered vaguely normal…

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?
Read Jack Kerouack. Listen to Bob Dylan. Write and write until you have something the feels good. Trust your instincts and try and change the world!

4 responses to “Getting to Know You: Stuart Ayris.

  1. Good to see you getting about Stuart… I am still on your tail… Lovely blog as well Vic..xx

  2. The more I get to know Stuart the more I like his ethos, imagination and humour. Nice chap too.

  3. Thank you Rosie and thank you Darren – fine people both!

  4. Smashin’ I think Stuart is a bit ace really. Wicked sense of humour 🙂

Leave a Reply

