Getting to Know You: Paul D Brazill


Today I welcome a good friend of mine, Paul D Brazill, to the blog.

Why do you think focussing on short stories is a good idea?

For me, it’s just natural to make a piece of writing ‘No frills’ (like Iceland’s own brand products). I still have punk approach to writing. Quick in, quick out.

You have a lot of work in which you collaborate with other authors, what about that do you enjoy? And is there any part you don’t like?

I haven’t actually collaborated with the writers on the Drunk On The Moon series, as such. I’ve just given them a world that I created and they’ve given it their own spin. Like Bob Kane’s Batman is very different to Frank Miller or Grant Morrisons.

What inspires you?

Daftness, in all of its shades. But usually the darker hues. Like that bloke recently who buried his wife alive, because he wanted to shag the lasses he’d seen at the gym. After he buried her, he went home and changed his Facebook status to ‘single.’ Same day! And, of course, she escaped from where he’d buried her and he is well and truly scuppered!

Do you have time to read at the moment? If so, what are you reading?

Loads of anthologies, short stories & short story collections.

Do you have a favourite author or one that has influenced you the most?

Bukowski is the most obvious and I didn’t realise how much I was influenced by Damon Runyon until recently.

How do you feel about the rise of digital books? Would you ever consider branching out into print-based publishing or do you think that is on its way out?

I think print and digital will work hand in hand eventually, when the dust settles. I’m bored to death with the whole discussion now, though! Sorry!

As a writer, what do you do well? What are your weaknesses?

I think I write scenes well and plots almost not at all. When I look at something like Anthony Neil Smith’s All The Young Warriors, I’m so impressed. Then again, everything in that book is impressive.

Where can we find you online?

I’m everywhere and nowhere, baby, but my blog You Would Say That Wouldn’t You? is as good a place as any to stop by.

What do you like most about writing? What do you dislike?

I like finishing something – because I usually procrastinate so much I’m going blind -and I dislike any time it becomes like work.

What are your hopes for the future?

I’ve seen the future brother; it’s murder.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Never give or take advice. Including this!

Thanks for the natter, Vic.

My pleasure Paul, thanks for being involved.

5 responses to “Getting to Know You: Paul D Brazill

  1. Paul Brazill is, hands-down, one of the best writers in the world working today. Great interview! I read every single word of his I can get my hands on and then shake my head in despair at knowing it’s going to be nearly impossible to even come close to this master’s writing. I’d just like to hang out at the pub with him!

  2. Black Flag and Leonard are battling for my ears now. Good stuff.

  3. Always fun to read about Monsieur Brazill.

  4. One of the best interviews I’ve read with PDB.

Leave a Reply

