The Adele / Brit Awards Furore


Earlier this evening, Adele was awarded ‘Album of the Year’ at the Brit Awards. During her speech, the host James Corden apologised and told her she had to wrap it up to make way for Blur’s performance. Adele appeared upset by this and was seen giving the middle finger. She later said at a press conference that the finger wasn’t directed at fans.

James Corden then appeared on ITV2’s aftershow programme. He looked very angry and said it wasn’t fair that he was told to cut Adele off.

Why is no-one blaming George Michael? He staggered onto the stage, fluffed his lines and went on about boycotting the Brits until this year. He was quite clearly inebriated. Why book someone so volatile to present the biggest award of the evening?

And how dare Jame Corden spit his dummy out for being told to do his job? It is common practice that the band being honoured with a Lifetime Achievement award gets at least 10 minutes at the end of the show.

This shambles just shows how big the egos of these people really are. I’ve always enjoyed watching the Brits but it’s pathetic that people are getting so upset over being cut off during their speech. There’s a lot worse in the world! Stop taking yourselves so seriously. You’re overpaid and overindulged. Grow up.

Vic x

2 responses to “The Adele / Brit Awards Furore

  1. Well, to be fair, if there was a Brit award for writing, how would you like it if you won and were told to cut off your speech? I’d be SOO excited to win (I tend to ramble when I’m excited) and would also be humiliated if someone told me to wrap it up.
    But I agree that it is an over-reaction.

    • If I were privileged enough to be given a Brit for writing, I’d be thrilled and would recognise that the people hurrying my speech were the same who’d given me the award! Plus she’d already won one and made a speech!
      Either way, I’d realise that although my writing had been recognised, it’s not the end of the world – no-one is going to live or die because of my writing, or her singing!

Leave a Reply

