Getting to Know You: Kristy Berridge


Today I’m thrilled to host my lovely Twitter friend Kristy Berridge to the blog. Here she tells us about her journey as a writer.

Vic x

My name is Kristy Berridge, just your average techtard, serial dieter, chocoholic twenty-nine year old intent on making a mark on the world. I’d like to say said mark was part of labelling myself ‘author extraordinaire’, but really I’m just this girl that waved a book around in a few publisher’s faces and finally managed to land one right on the kisser.

So that’s what I do now – I write stories, I eat excessive amounts of chocolate, I yell at my laptop, and then cry about my thighs. Thankfully my books having nothing do with any of these flaws, writing about vampires, werewolves, angels, demons, and magic instead makes me sinfully happy.

‘The Hunted’ is the first book in a series of five. It’s also crazy good and possibly full of enough wit to make you split your pants, enough vampires to make you want to invest in turtlenecks.com, and enough violence to make you want to fondle a samurai sword.

Cheap jokes aside, I love to write. I’ve always done it, especially since I was taught the alphabet as a kid. I didn’t really consider it an option as a career until my job as an interior designer saw me with a lot of spare time on my hands. I’m going to say that this was because I was far too organised in my work, not because the design industry slackened once Better Homes and Gardens admitted to the general public that you can buy paint at the hardware store and do it yourself.

Anyway …

With time to spare, I sat down in front of my laptop on a day when I wasn’t decidedly screaming at its ineffectual behaviour and I thought, ‘What else am I going to do?’ As cavalier as it sounds, this is how my writing career began. Four years of sitting on my backside, bored yet compelled to write supernatural fiction. I figured I could give Stephanie Meyer and Richelle Mead a run for their money. Alas, I’m the one still burning rubber.

So thankfully after taking my publisher out with a good clean hit to the face and naturally doing the awkward happy shuffle in my living room – ‘The Hunted’ was made. Now I have ‘The Damned’, the second in the series due for release middle of this year with the following three bound to pop up in due course. I never thought writing could be so rewarding yet I am really pushed to find something I love more … and this includes my husband.

Synopsis for ‘The Hunted’:

Elena Manory is by no means an ordinary teenage girl. Being born with the ability to heal herself from any injury, and with the knowledge that on her eighteenth birthday she will become a Vampire, Elena is aware that she is more than a little different from other girls her age.

It isn’t until she meets William Granville, an alluring and impossibly handsome vampire, that she begins to question her destiny and what secrets the Institute of Magical Intervention and her adopted family have withheld—secrets that could change the fates of not only her own life, but of the lives of all the immortals.

As events spiral out of control, William may be the only person Elena can place her trust in. He, and Elena’s magical family, must fight to save her, joining forces to defeat a common, deadly foe. For William, it is his chance to save the girl that he has searched eternity to find.

Links:

Web: http://www.kristyberridge.com/

Blog: http://kristyberridge.blogspot.com.au/

FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Hunted/116951581718393

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KristyBerridge

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Hunted-Kristy-Berridge/dp/1921829524/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1330147454&sr=1-1

Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUCQJ_49WfE

One response to “Getting to Know You: Kristy Berridge

  1. Nice post . Thank you for, visiting this blog page man. I will email you some time! I did not know that.

Leave a Reply

