I Am Woman


Two weeks ago I wrote what was a confessional article for one of my Twitter friends @MrsBPR at her blog, http://bloomhq.blogspot.co.uk/

After speaking to Margot (Mrs BPR), we decided we wanted to start-up a campaign to help women around the world who are suffering from abuse: be it verbal, psychological and/or physical. Our good friend Louise Stark joined the team and we were flying!

We then developed the idea and picked three nominated charities that we’d like to support:

I am Woman’s mission statement is as follows:
The ‘I Am Woman’ Campaign is about using our voices to help other women. To raise awareness of women across the planet who have in effect ‘lost their voice’ or had it taken away…either through, fear, abuse, illness or war. We all have a voice, whether that be through our blogs, social networks or talking to people in our daily lives. We must speak for them until they can do it for themselves.
We’re planning lots of things for the site and the campaign is gaining a lot of support on Twitter (@iamwoman_roar) and through Facebook.
On the website, we’re hoping to feature true stories and so require submissions for that. We’d also love to get some inspirational quotes on the website and are happy to accept recipes and top tips.
We’re putting together a charity anthology featuring fictional stories from female writers – both published and unpublished. The anthology will be published through Kindle Direct Publishing and we’re planning on publishing some paper copies. If you are a female writer, or know of someone who would be interested, please see http://iamwomancampaign.blogspot.co.uk/p/anthology.html for submission guidelines. We’ve had some amazing submissions so far and we’re looking forward to many more.
I Am Woman are looking for authors – both male and female – to donate signed books to be auctioned off and given away for the campaign. I know how important reading was for me while I was in an abusive relationship. I credit reading with saving my life and making me realise I wasn’t alone.
I am so thrilled that all of this was put in motion because of an article I wrote. Please get involved in any way you can.
Vic x
2 responses to “I Am Woman

  1. I would love to donate copies of my book… if I ever finish it! 🙂

    I am hoping to finish it before NaNoWriMo this year. Once NaNo starts, everything else goes on hold!

Leave a Reply

