Getting to Know You: Rod Glenn


Today, I’m pleased to introduce another North-East writer, Rod Glenn. Here, Rod shares some info with us about him and his work. Hope you enjoy!
Vic x
Rod, I loved ‘Sinema’. Where did you get the idea from? 
The idea initially started to form from one single scene in the film version of ‘Silence of the Lambs’ where Hannibal Lecter stages a spectacular escape from his Tennessee cell. There are hundreds of police officers and SWAT on the scene, but the terror they all feel from this one man is palpable. I wanted to somehow create a villain that could evoke such fear in a whole community. I wanted to keep it as realistic as possible, so I didn’t want my villain to have any supernatural powers – he had to be a real man, flesh and blood. From there, I thought, well, what if an ordinary well-liked working man with no criminal record decided in a very rational way to test himself to see if he could commit murder and then return to a normal life after it? Yes, I am twisted!
Did you always intend to bring out a sequel?
No. It was intended to be a one shot deal and then I was going to move on to a multitude of different projects.  I started getting tons of emails wanting to know what happened next – some were even begging or demanding! Over time, I started to realise that Haydon was just the first chapter of Han’s journey.
You’re definitely multi-talented, you act too. Who’s the most famous person you’ve met? 
Jack of all trades and master of none, some might say!  Over the years, I’ve been fortunate to meet quite a few people, but I think Brad Pitt on the set of World War Z probably tops them all. (How jealous are we?!)
And what would be your dream role? 
Han Whitman (Rod’s inimitable anti-hero from ‘Sinema’)! Haha! Failing that, I heard a while back that there was a remake of ‘The Wild Geese’ on the cards. I’d love to take a crack at Colonel Faulkner in that. I’m a big fan of Richard Burton.
What do you like most about writing? What do you dislike (if anything)? 
I love that feeling of getting lost in it – looking up and suddenly realising hours have gone by and I’ve written a whole section that I hadn’t even previously planned for. Until it’s in print, a novel is a living thing – evolving in ways we don’t expect sometimes. It’s almost magical. I don’t dislike anything about writing. I even enjoy the re-drafting, editing and proofing stages – this is where your rough diamond slowly begins to sparkle.
What inspires you to write? 
For me, anything can – a dream, a person walking by in the park, a phrase, a news article. Keep your eyes and ears open and ideas can just pour in.
Do you find time to read, if so what are you reading at the moment? 
I don’t get the chance to read as much as I’d like, but as a writer, it is always important to keep reading as much as possible, so I make time. I always have a few books on the go, but the one I’m really in to at the moment is ‘Abide With Me’ by Ian Ayris – it’s a cracking read.
Which author(s) has/have had the biggest influence on your writing? 
They’re quite a wide and varied lot!  Edgar Allen Poe, H P Lovecraft, H G Wells, Hunter S. Thompson, Terry Pratchett, Frank Herbert, J R R Tolkien, Stephen King, James Herbert, Richard Matheson and Dean Koontz to name just a few.
If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing? 
Killing people 🙂 (Vic moves away warily…)
What do you think are your strengths and weaknesses?
I’m always searching for new goals and challenges, but I do have to combat that old writers’ demon procrastination sometimes!
What are you working on at the moment? 
I’m currently working on ‘Sinema 3’ and also a sci-fi action horror called ‘The Fortress’.
Where can we find you online? 
Do you have any advice for aspiring writers? 
Keep reading as much as possible and different genres and authors and observe your fellow man/woman.
What’s been your proudest moment? 
It’s got to be getting my first novel published back in 2006. Nothing quite beats that.
Leave a Reply

