Getting to Know You: Dominic C James


Today we have Dominic C James on the blog, talking to us about his life as a writer.
How did you get into writing?
I’ve always enjoyed writing from an early age. I wanted to be a writer when I walked out of school (A-Levels), I had some kind of Orwellian dream that I was going to live on the bread line and write classic literature. Didn’t quite work out like that, and I guess my first stab as an adult was when I decided my musical career wasn’t going anywhere. I wrote a novella called Wherever, but didn’t manage to find a publisher. Not one to give up easily, I tried again with ‘The Reiki Man’, and after a fair few rejections I eventually secured a contract.
What are your plans now? Anything else in the pipeline?
The third book in the trilogy – ‘A Sacred Storm’ – will be out in August, and I guess most of my energy is directed towards that and also getting Roundfire Books into the public eye.
What do you like most about writing? What do you dislike (if anything)?
The best bit about writing is when you’re in the flow and come up with something totally original (sentence or paragraph or just a phrase) and think to yourself “Yes, that’s it! That’s perfect, I’ve nailed it!”. Unfortunately these moments can be few and far between. I dislike sitting in front of a blank page for what seems hours on end, struggling to write a simple sentence. But it has to be done if you want to get to the end of the book, they don’t write themselves.
What inspires you to write?
Originally, I guess in part it was a desire to prove myself, to prove I could achieve something. But also, the subject matter of ‘The Reiki Man’ was something I believed in and felt compelled to write about. Nowadays, it’s mainly love that inspires me.
Do you find time to read, if so what are you reading at the moment?
I don’t find a lot of time to read for pleasure at the moment as most of the time I’m either editing books, reading submissions, or doing PR on the net. Although working in publishing is a pleasure in itself. I’m in the middle of ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time’, and have been for a while, although it’s a very good read. At heart I’m definitely a thriller man, though.
Which author(s) has/have had the biggest influence on your writing?
Dan Brown, Richard Bach, Ian Fleming and Tolkien.
If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing?
I’d be a professional gambler.
What do you think are your strengths and weaknesses?
Persistence is a strength of mine, I think that’s the most important thing for any writer, to have the belief when nobody in the industry wants to know. I can also be a bit lazy.
What are you working on at the moment?
I’ve started another book, but it’s at a very early stage and I’m really concentrating on getting the trilogy out there.
Where can we find you online?
At www.dominiccjames.com and at www.roundfire-books.com . I’m on Facebook (Dominic C. James) and Twitter (@dominiccjames)
Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?
Persistence, persistence, persistence. To quote Richard Bach: “A professional writer is an amateur who never gave up.”
Leave a Reply

