Getting to Know You: Tony Schumacher


                Why I Write.

                   By Tony Schumacher.

 

At the very very tiny tips of my forefingers there is a universe.

You can’t see it; in fact, no matter how hard I stare at them, neither can I.

But I know it’s there.

It’s an amazing place; anything can happen there, it grows out from the smallest digit like a huge balloon, getting bigger and bigger and bigger and bigger until it’s the biggest thing anyone can imagine.

In it I can be king or a queen. I can be a horse, on a beach, or maybe jumping over a mountain. I can be mouse or a dinosaur, a murderer or a dead body or even a maggot in a dead body.

I can be one person, or a million.

Fight a war or plant a seed.

I can be a rock in a desert or under the sea or being broken by a prisoner.

I can have dreams and wake up then go back and dream them again in a different colour.

I can be you or I can be your father or your father’s father.

I could be the spider in the bath you killed last night, slipping and sliding gasping and rasping to my doom.

I can be now, or I can be then, I can be here, there or somewhere and I can be happy and I can be sad at the same time and then not at all.

I can laugh, cry, live, die and never have existed.

And when I’ve been all that, done all that, dreamed all that and seen all that.

I can give it to you and you can be it too.

All you have to do is read it.

Tony Schumacher is a writer and stand up comedian from Liverpool, his book, Rear View Mirror is available for the Kindle (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rear-View-Mirror-ebook/dp/B007T9ZFO6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1339183092&sr=8-1). It tells stories from his time as a Liverpool night time cab driver, tales from streets and the night, the drunks, the drug addicts, the lager, the lost, the lonely and the lovers and how he found himself, in the Rear View Mirror.

Twitter: @tonyshoey

http://www.tonyshoey.com

2 responses to “Getting to Know You: Tony Schumacher

  1. The reason kids prefer the plain cardboard box to the shiny multicoloured contents . . .

  2. Just remembered this and thought i would add that the paper version of the book has finally come out and you can buy it here:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rear-View-Mirror-Stories-streets/dp/1484159624

Leave a Reply

