Getting to Know You: Ricki Thomas


Today on the blog, the lovely Ricki Thomas talks to me about her life as a writer. Enjoy!

Vic x

Ricki, what do you like most about writing? What do you dislike (if anything)? I enjoy the freedom of being able to go wherever my mind takes me, of being able to explore possibilities and hopefully make them into a gripping read for people to enjoy. A bit nerdy, maybe, but I also adore the research involved. I dislike the fact that everything takes such a long time, but I’m learning to be more patient now.

What inspires you to write? Everything I see and hear in life is an inspiration. The smallest comment or action can be twisted and turned to create something new.

Do you find time to read, if so what are you reading at the moment? Most of the books I read are factual, and mostly about either crime or criminals, but I have just finished ‘Catcher in the Rye’ (JD Salinger) having read that it was Mark Chapman’s favourite book (he killed John Lennon). I wanted to know if it contributed in any way to the crime he committed. If it did, I can’t see how.

Which author(s) has/have had the biggest influence on your writing? I had the entire Agatha Christie collection by the time I was 11, so I guess she must have inspired me in some way or another, but I couldn’t imagine reading them now.

If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing? Until I gave up my job to write full-time I was an accountant, so I expect I’d still be doing that. I enjoy numbers as much as I enjoy words.

What do you think are your strengths and weaknesses? I’m very dedicated to my work, and determined too, but I struggle with the bad criticism that’s inevitable, and expected, in this line of work. I’m afraid I don’t take it on the chin and bounce back; it affects me (and my confidence) deeply.

What are you working on at the moment? A thriller/horror feature script. I absolutely adore scriptwriting, so every working day at the moment is very exciting – the problem is I talk about my work too much – I’m a writing bore!!!

Where can we find you online? www.rickithomas.com – or, of course, Facebook.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers? Keep working. The more you write, the more your voice grows, and the more you learn. If you want it badly enough, and are prepared to commit to it 100%, then it’s a dream I’m sure anybody can reach. Oh, and don’t dismiss (constructive) criticism – it can be very helpful.

What’s been your proudest moment? It goes without saying that my children are my greatest achievement but, on a work level, that moment when you hold your first novel in your hand – I cried, it was a mixture of relief and pride.

What would you say to your sixteen-year-old self if you could offer one word of advice or inspiration? Sixteen? Easy – you DON’T know it all – stop talking about how wonderful you are and start showing it instead! I’m glad I’m older now, much less obnoxious!

Download ‘Hope’s Vengeance’ by Ricki here: http://amzn.to/LW2FD5

Download Ricki’s ‘Bloody Mary’ here: http://amzn.to/LW2GH7

‘Unlikely Killer’ by Ricki Thomas is available for download here: http://amzn.to/LW2K9Y

One response to “Getting to Know You: Ricki Thomas

  1. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I to find It really useful
    & it helped me out much. I am hoping to provide one thing again and help others like you helped me.

Leave a Reply

