Getting to Know You: Simon Wood


Today I’m happy to welcome Simon Wood to the blog. He’s a man of few words but the ones he uses are effective 😉 Enjoy.

Vic x

What do you like most about writing? What do you dislike (if anything)?

I love writing the first draft.  There’s a thrill from writing something new.  The thing I dislike most is the copyediting. Grammar was never my best skill, so I hate having to pick over grammatical mistakes with the copy editor.  I just wish they’d take care of it for me.

What inspires you to write?

Dilemmas.  I love situations (real or invented) that put people in awkward positions where there are no obvious solutions.  Find a bag of money on the street. What do you do—turn it in or keep it?  Human frailty is a wonderful thing to explore in a fictional setting.

Do you find time to read, if so what are you reading at the moment?

I’m dyslexic so I don’t read much, but I do listen to a lot of audio books.  I listen to a lot of crime fiction whether it be hard or soft boiled.  At the moment, I’m reading the James Bond short stories.

Which author(s) has/have had the biggest influence on your writing?

I think James Herbert influences me from the standpoint of style.  He writes simply but effectively. Reginald Hill helped inspire my world view when it comes to crime. He’s very good a highlighting our weaknesses. Raymond Chandler influences me from the standpoint of just wishing I could write like that.

If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing?

My background is engineering so I would be doing something in that field.

What do you think are your strengths and weaknesses?

I’m tenacious.  I will go after something and I won’t stop until I achieve it.  My weakness?  What I just said.  🙂

What are you working on at the moment?

I’m working on a book called ‘Infidelity Limited’. It’s about a woman who becomes embroiled with a shadowy firm that knocks some sense into wayward spouses.

Where can we find you online?

My most common haunts are: www.simonwood.net

www.facebook.com/simonwoodwrites

http://twitter.com/simonwoodwrites

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Write. Revise. Submit. Repeat.

What’s been your proudest moment?

My first book.

What would you say to your sixteen-year-old self if you could offer one word of advice or inspiration?

Don’t be scared of following your dreams.

Leave a Reply

