Review: ‘Hour of the Wolf’ by Hakan Nesser


Hakan Nesser is a trail blazer in the Scandinavian crime fiction genre and this, his seventh book in the Inspector Van Veeteren series, a young boy’s death in a hit and run sets off an unexpected chain of events for both the driver and the police investigating the incident.

Van Veeteren is now retired from the police force but faces an enormous personal challenge when his son becomes the victim of a terrible crime.

I’ve never read Nesser before but this book – which is fine as a standalone book – is typical Scandinavian crime and a decent enough read. The dark logic of one person draws the reader in and makes you want to know how it will all come together.

Although the reader knows more information about the person responsible for the crimes, Nesser’s intelligent use of the big reveal means the reader find out important information at the same time as the investigators.

I tripped quickly through the first few chapters but I found some of the description of police procedures and investigation fairly laborious at times. However, I wondered if it was Nesser’s intention so that the reader understood the frustration felt by the officers.

There are some really beautiful descriptions and Nesser confidently shares his characters’ stories.

Vic x

One response to “Review: ‘Hour of the Wolf’ by Hakan Nesser

  1. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

