Why I’m going to be very busy over the next fortnight.


Forget Cannes, Whitley Bay is the only film festival by the sea worth visiting.

Last year was the first time I’d attended Whitley Bay – or any other – Film Festival and now I’m hooked! I went to see cult classic ‘Rocky Horror Picture Show’ at the Spanish City Dome and was so impressed by everything – the movie memorabilia, the film itself and the enthusiasm of the audience – that this year I’m going to every event possible.

Lots of people camped it up at ‘Rocky Horror’ in fancy dress so this year I’m looking forward to seeing maybe a Marilyn Monroe  at ‘Some Like It Hot’ and plenty of zombies at the ‘Dawn of the Dead’ screening. Audience participation is encouraged – you can get as involved as you like so get thinking about those iconic costumes! Zombies? Vampires? Tin Man? Lion? Scarecrow? Oh my!

There are some of my favourite films showing this year – including ‘The Wizard of Oz’ and ‘Moulin Rouge’ – and some films I’m seeing for the first time. The event I’m most excited about is The Secret Cinema, where you’re taken to a secret location relevant to the film being shown. Previous years have included ‘Get Carter’ staged in the RAOB and ‘The Shining’ at The Rex Hotel.

I’ll be blogging about the festival as it happens so keep checking www.whitleybayfilmfestival.co.uk for updates and photos.

Vic x

Leave a Reply

