The Next Big Thing


Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing.

I’ve been tagged by my good friend (and mentor) Barbara Henderson to talk about my current work-in-progress.  The post is called ‘The Next Big Thing’. So this is a little bit of information on the novel that I’ve been working on. I guess I’m known for writing short stories and flash fiction but I do have a novel that’s waiting to be finished (although it has been waiting a while).

What is the working title of your book? ‘Fix Me Up’

Where did the idea come from for the book? When I was studying for my Masters in Creative Writing, I happened upon a story that I initially thought was about a grandmother and granddaughter who hadn’t got along together in life but the grandmother’s death has a profound impact on her granddaughter. However, I realised the more compelling story lay with the man who caused the grandmother’s death. 

What genre does your book fall under? Crime, I think.
Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? That’s a great question. I think I’d like Ralph Spall to play Colin, I really think Ralph could embody Colin. I think I’d like David Morrissey to play Mary’s son and perhaps Pam Ferris as Mary.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Colin wants a fix but it’s not necessarily the fix he expected.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? Not sure yet, I need to finish it first!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? Still going. I’ve had this idea for three years now but have been distracted by writing short stories and blogs.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Maybe ‘Trainspotting’ by Irvine Welsh and ‘Boy A’ by Jonathan Trigell.

Who or what inspired you to write this book? I wanted to write this story for many reasons. One of those reasons was to demonstrate how sometimes people can be sanctified or vilified because of something as simple and uncontrollable as their age. Frequently in the media, youngsters are portrayed as thugs and old people are generally seen as kind and vulnerable. I wanted to explore how readers would feel if an old lady, where the main stereotype is of a sweet old lady who would be the victim of a junkie but I wanted to subvert that by making her cantankerous and offensive. I’m not saying anyone deserves to be the victim of a crime but I didn’t want her to be seen as a saint. 

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? None of the characters are particularly likeable but the story is pretty compelling. The story is quite transformative too plus, like most of my stories, there’s more to it than meets the eye.

2 responses to “The Next Big Thing

  1. Pingback: The Next Big Thing « K. A. Laity

  2. Pingback: The Next Big Thing Strikes Back « K. A. Laity

Leave a Reply

