Graham Smith’s Review of 2012


Day 2 of our advent calendar sees the lovely Graham Smith giving us his rundown of 2012.

2012 has been a pretty great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

As an author who is still learning their trade I was massively thrilled when a New York agent contacted me regarding two of my short stories. What he wanted to do was submit them to Otto Penzler for an anthology he was creating. My stories didn’t make it but I was overwhelmed by the thought that such esteemed people were reading my humble scribblings.

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?

Seeing the GB team do so well in the Olympics was awesome but the thing I took the most personal pleasure from will always be spending time with my wife and son.

Favourite book in 2012?

That’s a tough one as I have read so many great books. ‘Revenger’ by Tom Cain, ‘Die Easy’ by Zoe Sharp, ‘The Vanishing Point’ by Val McDermid all jump instantly to mind, but the winner for me would have to be ‘Close to the Bone’ by Stuart MacBride which comes out in January and is absolutely fantastic.

A little bit of cheating there, Graham, but I’ll let you off! Favourite film of 2012?

I haven’t seen any films this year. I spend my time reading, writing and procrastinating.

Favourite song of the year?

‘Somebody I Used to Know’ by Gotye. It may have been out last year but I don’t listen to music anymore than I watch films.

Any downsides for you in 2012?

The whole sockpuppet saga which started with that infamous panel at Harrogate. I’ve friends on all sides of the debate and to see them going at each other was sickening as was the effect on reviews and reviewers in general.

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

Not really. I plan to keep on keeping on. If anything I intend to do more writing.

What are you hoping for from 2013?

A six figure book deal with an eye watering advance. Film and TV ties ins plus a bigger house, better job etc. Realistically though I’ll be happy if I can get any kind of traditional print deal.

Visit Graham’s Amazon Author Page for links to his great work. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Graham-Smith/e/B006FTIBBU/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1 

http://www.amazon.com/Graham-Smith/e/B006FTIBBU/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

One response to “Graham Smith’s Review of 2012

  1. Thank you very much for having me over Vic.

Leave a Reply

