Kate Kerrigan’s Review of 2012.


Behind the third door on our festive advent calendar is Irish writer Kate Kerrigan. Here she is to review her 2012.
Kate, 2012 has been a pretty great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

I did my first recording for Sunday Miscellany – an iconic irish radio program that goes out on RTE One on Sunday mornings. My Aunt (Sheila Smyth) http://www.sheilasmyth.com/ wrote for it for years so it felt kind of important that I have taken the baton on from her.  Personally – deffo the new campervan and hanging out with my two gorgeous boys Leo and Tom. Also – a great place to work and adventure around ireland researching the novel I am currently writing –  ‘Two Islands’.

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?

Irish boxer Katie Taylor winning at the Olympics. Hands down. Tears – sobbing, actually.

Favourite book in 2012?

Only got around to reading ‘Wolf Hall’ by Hilary Mantel so – if I hurry I might get a start on ‘Bring Up The Bodies’ before the year is out!

Favourite film of 2012?

The new James Bond. Haven’t actually seen it yet but know that – whatever its like – first viewing will just be drooling at Daniel Craig over large popcorn. Saving myself.

Favourite song of the year?

I am nearly fifty. I do not listen to modern music. Cake – ‘I Will Survive’ – is on a loop along with Supertramp’s ‘Breakfast In America’ album currently. Ask my 11 year old for a more updated version.

Any downsides for you in 2012?

The American Election. Kind of depressing on all fronts. Obama was rather lacklustre and lacked the hope and vim and the whole thing and “at least it wasn’t Romney” was the best we could say.

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

Relax more. If ‘somethings got to give’ – let it not be me for a change. Oh and spend the entire summer in my campervan

What are you hoping for from 2013?

Launching ‘Land of Dreams’ the third part of the Ellie Hogan trilogy (http://pinterest.com/katekerrigan1/land-of-dreams-1940-s-hollywood/ Check out my pinterest page on it – and all my books – great place to put all my visuals and research  – love it!) – so looking forward to that! Also launching ‘City of Hope’ in the U.S. which is always exciting going to NY (although VERY hard work – of course). Mostly hoping for continued health for me and the kids and to find the time and discipline to finish my new book. Can’t get better than that. Except maybe blog more. http://katekerriganauthor.tumblr.com/

Visit Kate’s Amazon Author Page here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Kate-Kerrigan/e/B001HOSQN6/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Leave a Reply

