Allison Davies’s Review of 2012.


Poet and philanthropist – and my very lovely friend – Allison Davies has kindly shared her memories of 2012 with us.

Allison, 2012 has been a super-duper year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

My 2012 highlight would have to be winning the Short, Sharp Festival of new playwriting at ARC Stockton, which led to an opportunity to work with production company Odd Man Out. If all goes to plan there’ll be a full length piece in spring next year.  I almost fell over my name was read out.

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?

It’s hard to choose one moment in particular, but if push comes to shove I’d have to say it was being back in our workshop in Nepal, where I work with leprosy affected women as part of Danusha.

Favourite book in 2012?

‘All Kinds of Magic’ by Piers Moore Ede. I love the way this guy writes. He has a knack for evocative description that really draws you in.

Favourite film of 2012?

I’m going to cheat as I wasn’t bowled over by the few 2012 releases I managed to catch, so I’m choosing a 2004 release ‘The Beautiful Country’ which I watched this year.

Favourite song of the year?

Again, not a 2012 release, but a song that came alive in a new way for me when I saw Elbow play Jodrell Bank in the summer, so it’s the perfectly crafted ‘Scattered Black and Whites’ all the way. (I’m not doing very well at this, am I?)

Any downsides for you in 2012?

Just the usual stuff of life; for instance, people not following through on promises. It really bugs me when someone says they’ll do something and then they don’t. Plus, I’d like to be paid on a more regular basis for my writing, but when I think of the conditions in which I see people living in other parts of the world, I tend to pull myself up by the boot straps and smile.

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

Yes. I’ve resolved not to make any resolutions, though I might set one or two goals for the year ahead.

What are you hoping for from 2013?

I’m hoping that I’ll be a better writer at the end of the year than at the beginning, IE I want to learn more about my craft and to tell great stories in an engaging way.

I’m also hoping for good times with great friends, a new burst of creativity, and hopefully a paid writing gig or two.

Visit Allison’s blog at http://foundpoet.com/wordpress/

Leave a Reply

