Graham Taylor’s Review of 2012


Day 6 sees Graham Taylor – no, not former England boss but the boss of ‘Good Guy Publishing and author extraordinaire – reviewing his 2012.

2012 has been a really good year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

Favourite memory professionally? There’s a good few to choose from I’m proud to say, but I would think publishing new authors under my own publishing label has definitely been one of the highlights for me professionally. Of course though this might not have happened if I hadn’t got the Good Guy Publishing Website sorted out. I’d been tinkering with varying ideas and designs for such a long time and was really chuffed when it all came together. Anyone interested in checking it out it’s: www.goodguypublishing.co.uk

And finally seeing one of my stories in an anthology released by Bridge House Publishing was certainly another highlight – as was them informing me of another story of mine that will also be coming out next year – all very exciting .

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?

One moment that certainly stands out for me was being accepted as a Foster Carer back in April and then watching the opening Olympic ceremony whilst feeding a little five-month-old baby boy – it was magic.

Favourite book in 2012?

That’s a tough one, as a lot of what I’ve read this year has been work related for GGP. That said there are a few novels I’ve read purely for leisure that did make an impact on me as a reader this year included:

‘The Descendants’ – Kaui Hart Hemmings

‘The Mammy’ (followed by all the rest in the series) – Brendan O’Carroll

‘The Woman In Black’ – Susan Hill

‘War Horse’ – Michael Morpurgo

Favourite film of 2012?

That’s even tougher than the book question – I love the movies and have clocked up a fair few hours this year in front of the silver screen.

‘Prometheus’ stands out, as it was great to see the beginnings of the ‘Alien’ franchise.

‘The Expendables 2’it was great to see all the old action stars in one movie – although I did think it was far too over the top corny-wise and maybe just a decade or two too late, but still better late than never.

‘Snow White And The Huntsman’ – was a great spin on the Snow White story and although I was initially forced against my will to watch it, I must admit I did enjoy it.

‘The Dark Knight Rises’ – I love all the superhero movies and Batman’s no exception. I don’t know if this was the last for Christian Bale but if it was it was a good one to bow out in.

‘The Avengers’ – has definitely got to be my favourite though – seeing all the superheros in one movie – Marvel – lous 😉 It might have taken a little while to get to the action but once it did it was fantastic. Best bit was the Hulk & Thor scene, if you haven’t seen it I won’t spoil it for you, all I’ll say is I’ve watched that bit over and over again – priceless!

Favourite song of the year?

Good question, I’m quite set in my ways musically and tend to stick to what I know, which usually involves anything Meatloaf or Elvis related. However, that said, there have been a few that have stood out for me this year:

‘Read All About’ and ‘River’ – Emeli Sande

‘The Power of Love’ – Gabrielle Aplin

‘Safe and Sound’ – Taylor Swift

‘I Will Wait’ – Mumford & Sons

‘I Won’t Give Up’ – Jason Mraz

Any downsides for you in 2012?

There’s been a few downsides and set backs in one form or another this year, which I think can occur at any point in a person’s life and from experience I’m now a firm believer that it makes us stronger dealing with them head on. I think I can quite often be too hard on myself when things haven’t always gone quite to plan such as missing a deadline with a story – which for any author will know can often feel like the end of the world at the time, but then on reflection, as I look back, I know how silly that sounds and know that finishing a story is always something I will achieve later on. Without going into detail, I think this year has definitely taught me to put things into perspective and I have realised, perhaps for the first time, just how lucky I really am. I’m pretty sure that what will be will be and anything else is a bonus.

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

I’m not really sure about the whole resolution concept anymore. I have in the past made loads, but again been too hard on myself when I haven’t stuck to that new exercise plan or when I’ve eaten that full bag of giant milky-bar buttons when I’m supposed to have given up chocolate. So in short, no, not this year – other than that I’m going to pledge to continue doing what I’m doing and aim to learn from last year’s mistakes and strive to do things better, whether in my writing or day to day life in general.

What are you hoping for from 2013?

To be secure in the knowledge that I’m doing all I can to be all I can be. As I said earlier, I’ve learnt this year how lucky I am and now appreciate what I’ve got and I hope that I can continue to help those less fortunate than myself, whether that’s through writing or through my other voluntary commitments.

As you’ll see from Graham’s answers, he’s a real stand-up chap. To find out more about him, visit his Amazon Author Page at: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Graham-Taylor/e/B006FO7AOO/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Leave a Reply

