Stuart Ayris’s Review of 2012.


A week into our festive reviews of 2012, Stuart Ayris takes some time out to review his 2012.

Hi Stuart, 2012 has been a fab year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

Cheers! In terms of my writing it has to be when ‘Tollesbury Time Forever’ began to get great reviews and to sell. My aim was to sell a hundred copies during the life-time of the book with a vague hope that one or two people may see merit in it. My expectations have been surpassed on both fronts and I can’t tell you how happy that makes me!

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally? 

Although I watched the Paralympics and stayed up all night to watch the US election, I think my favourite moment of 2012 has to be when I won the Olympic challenge back in August. Now this little competition has been going on for about ten years and involves me and my two youngest sons (now 16 and 17) in a series of events at the caravan site where my parents own a caravan. These events include penalty shoot-out, crossbar challenge, free-kicks, golf, cricket, scrabble and Tiger Woods on the Playstation. I have managed to win every single year but thought my chances following my knee operation were slim. Yet I did it again!!!

Oh and the 5-0 drubbing handed out by the mighty Dagenham and Redbridge to Rotherham United was mighty fine too.

Favourite book in 2012?

The favourite book I read in 2012 has to be ‘Barnaby Rudge’ by Charles Dickens. It suddenly feels I have a new best friend (in Dickens) who will be with me for many years to come!

My favourite book that came out in 2012 (other than mine of course!) is – I think – ‘In One Person’ by John Irving.

Favourite film of 2012?

The favourite film I watched in 2012 is ‘Another Year’ (Mike Leigh – which actually came out in 2010) My favourite film that came out in 2012 will undoubtedly be ‘The Hobbit’!!

Favourite song of the year?

Easy – has to be any of the tracks from Tempest, the new Bob Dylan album. I’d probably go with ‘Soon After Midnight’.

Any downsides for you in 2012?

There are never downsides – just variations of good sides!

I like that theory! Are you making resolutions for 2013?

Nope!

What are you hoping for from 2013?

I aim to have finished the last book in the ‘Frugality’ Trilogy by April 2013 and then look at a travel project I have in mind – sort of ‘On The Road’ in style but taking in various cricket grounds and camping along the way. Should be fun!!

Download Volume 1 of the ‘Frugality’ Trilogy – ‘Tollesbury Time Forever’ – here: http://amzn.to/SxRMc1

Volume 2 – ‘The Bird That Nobody Sees’ – is available for download here: http://amzn.to/WfstBT

Leave a Reply

