Bea Davenport’s Review of 2012.


Today, I have the lovely Bea Davenport chatting about how 2012 has been for her. In case you’re wondering why Bea looks so familiar, it’s because she has featured on the blog before under her real name of Barbara Henderson.

However, her first book is due out in 2013 under her pseudonym Bea Davenport so we need to get used to her new name!

2012 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

There have to be two. The first is from the summer when I finally passed my Creative Writing PhD. It’s been a long haul, but I finally did it and I’m very proud of that achievement. The second is getting a publishing contract from Legend Press for my crime/suspense novel ‘In Too Deep’.  (LINK: http://www.legendpress.co.uk/) For any writer, that first contract is a very exciting moment and I don’t think I will really believe it’s true until I see a book in my hand!

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?

All sport leaves me cold and I think I was the only person in the country who wasn’t won over by the Olympics. I think my only high point there was watching George Osborne being roundly booed during the Paralympics. I was delighted by Obama’s re-election, though.

Favourite book in 2012?

I can’t pick just one! I loved Madeline Miller’s ‘The Song of Achilles’, ‘Half Blood Blues’ by Esi Edugyan, and Ann Patchett’s ‘State of Wonder’. Good job I wasn’t on the Orange judging panel, as I couldn’t have made a final choice. And although I hate to sound like the entire rest of the country, Hilary Mantel’s ‘Bring up the Bodies’ is superb.

Favourite film of 2012?

I’m hopeless at getting to the pictures these days, in spite of my good intentions, unless it’s with the kids. So I am horrified to say that the last film I really enjoyed came out in 2011. The last film I saw this year was ‘Ice Age 4’ – meh.

Favourite song of the year?

Again, I am of the age where I don’t keep up with the current ‘hit parade’.  My 12-year-old suggested ‘Call Me Maybe’ by Carly Rae Jepson or ‘Titanium’ by David Guetta. But then my 15-year-old groaned and put a cushion over his head, so I don’t know what to think.

Any downsides for you in 2012?

We didn’t go away in the summer. Given the dreary weather, the Olympics and the Jubilee, that was a mistake.

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

I’m going to try to be more productive, writing-wise. I can do it if there’s a looming deadline, but I need to train myself to do it anyway, regularly, rather than in fits and starts.

What are you hoping for from 2013?

‘In Too Deep’ comes out on June 1st 2013, so I’m really hoping that this goes well and that the book is favourably received.

For more information on Bea, please visit her website:  http://www.beadavenport.com/

Leave a Reply

