Nick Quantrill’s Review of 2012.


On the tenth day of Christmas, this blog gives to you: author Nick Quantrill. He’s here to tell us his 2012.

2012 has been great for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally? 

I’ve massively enjoyed 2012. It was the year I really stepped things up. I did a lot of events around the north of England and was commissioned to make a short film for the Humber Mouth Literature Festival. All of that was a real thrill, but if I had to choose one, you can’t beat seeing your work published. I was fortunate to have the second Joe Geraghty novel, “The Late Greats” and the novella, “Bang Bang You’re Dead” both appear this year.

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?  

I’m generally a bit suspicious of big national events and what they represent. I found more to enjoy when it came to civic pride. Hull’s Luke Campbell boxed his way to Olympic Gold after years of dedicated training (not that you’d particularly know it – the BBC decided to show an over-rated diver win Silver instead…), but I really enjoyed watching his very much deserved success.

 Favourite book in 2012?

I didn’t read as many books as I’d like, but I have read some great ones this year. I’ll probably change my mind tomorrow, but I’ll go for “Weirdo” by Cathi Unsworth. For me, it has everything. It has a fast-moving plot, memorable characters, a great sense of place and an undercurrent of menace which stays with you when you’ve read the final page.

Favourite film of 2012?

This is as an easy one for me. I have a baby daughter, so films just don’t figure much in my life these days. I saw one this year, the new Batman. It was ok. I’m more of a box-set watcher, so I’ve caught up with and loved “Boardwalk Empire” and “Mad Men”.

Favourite song of the year?

Definitely “My Road Now” by Paul Westerberg. He’ll always be best known for his work with The Replacements, but he’s an accomplished solo singer-songwriter, too. The problem is that he has no interest in playing the industry game, so every now and again he’ll throw a song out for free via his website, like this one. It’s just him and his piano and it kicks off with a false start and a swear word and finishes with a sniff of satisfaction. But it’ll still break your heart. Go and download it. 

Any downsides for you in 2012?

I doubt I’m alone, but I always feel guilty when I’m not writing, that I should be doing more. Sometimes when you put your name forward for something it doesn’t always happen. It’s the nature of the job, so only small disappointments in 2012 when things haven’t gone my way. Certainly nothing major and nothing to complain about. Away from writing, I can’t believe the Coalition hasn’t crumbled…

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

No. Don’t believe in them. If you want to do change something, why does it matter if it’s August or January? Just do it.

What are you hoping for from 2013?

All being well, my third Joe Geraghty novel, “The Crooked Beat”, will appear towards the end of the year. Beyond that, I just want to get my head down on the next novel. I try to take up every opportunity that comes my way, so hopefully I’ll get the chance to go out and about on my travels. I’d also like to see the Coalition fail and Hull City win The Championship but turn down their rightful place in the Premier League.

Download your copy of ‘Broken Dreams’, the first novel in the Joe Geraghty series here: http://amzn.to/TL7zna

And once you’ve read that, you can download ‘The Late Greats’: http://amzn.to/U8liZW 

Leave a Reply

