Callum Gibson’s Review of 2012.


My good friend Callum Gibson joins us on the blog to review his 2012 today. I first met Callum when we studied for our Masters in Creative Writing and his style blew me away. I think from reading what he’s got to say here, you’ll feel the same. 

Was 2012 all you hoped it would be?

I had my first two stories – ‘Buckle’ and ‘Year of the Rat’ – published by the legends at Good Guy Publishing this year which was pretty cool. They’ve done okay, and the reviews have been groovy for the most part. I had a bit of a stinker for Buckle, a one star crapathon which felt a little like getting punched in the guts, but hey, you can’t please everybody. I’m hoping to have a first draft of a third novella at their door by the time Christmas rolls around. I also wrote a sequel to ‘Knowin’ Jack’ which I’ve only shown to one person so far. They loved it, and after spending the 6 month writing time wondering whether what I was doing was any good, let alone necessary, to hear that it was everything he’d hoped for and more was a feeling that I can’t quite describe. I’ll settle on ‘good’. Really good.

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?

When I was a kid I had a teacher that I really looked up to. That dude was my hero, you know? So cool and smart and funny, and I pretty much hung on his every (admittedly not as cool now that I look back but you get the idea) word. Anyway, when ‘Rat’ came out he got in touch, and dropped a little science on me with regards to the book. He said it was the best thing he’d read in a long time. It doesn’t sound like much but, right then, it was everything.

Favourite book in 2012?

My favourite book this year is a difficult one. I loved ‘The Wind Through the Keyhole (Dark Tower 8)’ – and that may have been the only book I’ve read this year that actually came out this year. ‘Looking for Alaska’ and ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ both blew my mind, and had me in tears for far longer then I’d care to admit. ‘One Day’ kicked my ass too, and I got a big ol’ thrill out of Peter Straub’s ‘Ghost Story’. That started pretty slow, and felt more like a slog then a leisurely read, but by the end it was puttering along at a groovy pace, fulfilling the promises of the blurb with characters I’d gotten to know hugely well.  This was also the year that I nailed all of the Potter books and, oh my! There’s a reason why they’re the phenomenon that they are, and I discovered it in January and I don’t think I’ve recovered since.

Favourite film of 2012?

Favourite flick this year has to be between ‘The Amazing Spider-Man’. Garfield and Stone had chemistry to spare, and I’d watch Denis Leary read the phonebook. ‘The Dark Knight Rises’; he hadn’t given everything, not yet… but he did. ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’: I called it as being this year’s ‘Adventureland’ and I was right. ‘Argo’ (Affleck!), and a horrible little flick called ‘Excision’ (that thing went places I didn’t really want to, but it was absolutely stellar, in an “Urgh, don’t make me watch it again” kind of way).

Favourite song of the year?

Ooooh, I’m not sure. I don’t think it came out this year but I’ve been listening to ‘Whisky Whisky Whisky’ by John Mayer quite a bit, not least because I like whisky. Yeah, it’s a cool song. All sad and such, but queerly hopeful. Or at least that’s what I get from it. Also, ‘We Are Never Getting Back Together’ by Taylor Swift is an utter tune. I catch a load of flack of my pals for digging it as much as I do (it’s not the usual thing – not even close – that I listen to, nor find acceptable for an self respecting cowboy to listen to either) but I just can’t get enough of it. So bouncy and happy and funny and knowing and… it’s just awesome.

 Any downsides for you in 2012?

Yeah, there’ve been a few, but I’m not going to bore you with them here. Not really, anyway. Still haven’t scored representation for ‘Knowin’ Jack’ which sucks, but there’s always tomorrow. That gets me down sometimes, but when that happens I just drop a little Swift and bop back to life.

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

No. I still have my old resolutions from last year on this here computer, and they’re going to stay the same. They’re not so much resolutions as they are little things that I try to do and be all the time. Sometimes I slip.

Sometimes.

What are you hoping for from 2013?

Honestly? I hope that next year is the movie that this year has been the pre-credits sequence to. We’ll see, I guess. And I’ll be sure to keep you posted.

If you’re of a sensitive nature, ‘Buckle’ may not be your kind of read. However, it is a darn good story. Download it here: http://amzn.to/UO0toO 

‘Year of the Rat’ is available for download too: http://amzn.to/TL9h87

Leave a Reply

