Gerry McCullough’s Review of 2012


Today, the lovely Gerry McCullough shares her 2012 ups and downs with us.

2012 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

I suppose, as a writer, the best thing that happened to me in 2012 was suddenly, back in April, seeing my first book, ‘Belfast Girls’, shooting into the top hundred, staying there for nearly two months. It sold 6,000 copies in April alone. It was exciting, wonderful, unbelievable – you name it!

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?

That has to be watching my little grandson Daniel take his first steps at the age of eleven months. He is such a sweet little thing. It’s been amazing to watch him growing from a baby in arms into a sturdy toddler – even better than seeing my book being successful!

Favourite book in 2012?

This turned out to be a hard question. I read a lot, so the field of choice was enormous. However, in the end there were two books that I thought were definitely outstanding. Firstly, Tom Winton’s second book ‘The Last American Martyr’, which I read at the start of the year. This is in my view a modern classic. All Tom Winton’s books are very good, but this one has a theme of major importance as well as first class writing. Then, secondly, a book which I read more recently, Cheryl Shireman’s ‘Cooper Moon: The Calling’. Again, all Cheryl’s books are in the top rank, but this one has something special – it’s warm, funny, full of depth, unputdownable.

Favourite film of 2012?

I’ve always enjoyed the James Bond films, so I’m going to say the new James Bond, ‘Skyfall’. Daniel Craig makes a good Bond, and the wit and action are fully up to the previous films. Mind you, the choice of films was much more limited – I’ve been to very few in the past year!

Favourite song of the year?

To be perfectly honest, most of my favourite songs go back a bit further than this year. But I did really like One Direction’s ‘Take Me Home’.

Any downsides for you in 2012?

2012 was the year when I finally realised that I’d been overdoing things badly for over two years (writing, editing, promoting my own books, supporting other writers, building a Social Media platform, you name it) and found that I was practically unable to get out of bed, due to stress and exhaustion. However, I pulled back for a while, was able to take a very happy holiday in Corfu, and began to cut my internet work down to a reasonable amount. The worst bit was feeling I was letting down my writer friends; and also it’s bad that I’ve been taking so long, because of the lengthy break, to write my current book, the second in my Angel Murphy series, ‘Angel in Belfast: An Angel Murphy Thriller’, following on from ‘Angel in Flight’. I’d hoped to have it out a couple of months ago!

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

I don’t, usually. But I’m certainly going to avoid the overworking trap, if possible!

What are you hoping for from 2013?

Two new grandchildren – both currently on the way. Oh, and to see all my books topping the rankings as bestsellers! And to see my children blessed in every way they need.

Visit Gerry’s Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Gerry-McCullough/e/B005F0MZU8/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1353956322&sr=8-2-ent

You can read Gerry’s blog at: http://gerrysbooks.blogspot.co.uk/

And this is her website (she meant it when she said she’d been busy!) www.gerrymccullough.com

3 responses to “Gerry McCullough’s Review of 2012

  1. Terrific review, Gerry! And thank you so much for the very kind words. I’ll be watchin’ you closely in 2013, so take it easy and enjoy yourself.

  2. Tom, you’re a star – glad you liked what I said. Very much deserved!

  3. Awe, Gerry. You just made my 2012! Thanks so much. Thrilled to be in such great company. I enjoy Tom’s writing too!

Leave a Reply

