Andy Rivers’s Review of 2012


The rather wonderful Mr Andy Rivers pops by to discuss his 2012 in his own inimitable way. Enjoy…

2012 has been a pretty great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?
Not really professionally as I haven’t had anything out but I have written a new novel (‘Special’) about a vigilante loose in Newcastle and a novella for the Byker Books ‘Best of British’ series entitled ‘The Spy Who Bluffed Me’ about a bouncer who thinks he’s a spook…should be out next year.
In the meantime here’s a link to my two previously published seminal works  Here – I’m good to you lot I really am! Wink

 

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?
I’ve had a tremendous year in that respect. Done so many things – went to India (proper, proper curry!), Dubrovnik (lovely) and Cornwall (get me eh, proper cosmopolitan!) Attended a couple of Olympic events in London which was brilliant, discovered I liked Gin, saw some great Theatre (‘Hamlet’ is class!) and saw some of my all-time favourite bands like The Happy Mondays and The Inspiral Carpets but the highlight has to be seeing The Stone Roses at Hyde Park. It sends shivers down my spine thinking about it.

Favourite book in 2012?
I thought it would have been ‘Skagboys’ by Irvine Welsh but I was disappointed with that. So, as this is the year I came right out of my comfort zone and started reading Charles Dickens, it’d have to be ‘Hard Times’ by Charley D. Grasping employers, downtrodden workers and grinding poverty – could have been written yesterday!

Favourite film of 2012?
None really spring out at me so I’m going to tell you about one I saw quite by accident on the telly. ‘A Room for Romeo Brass’ stars Paddy Considine and it’s really good.

Favourite song of the year?
Think it came out last year but ‘Let’s Roll Like We Used To’ by Kasabian off their ‘Velociraptor’ album – been playing it non-stop for 12 months!

Any downsides for you in 2012?
Just that I didn’t have time to get anything out but that was more than made up for by all the other stuff I did.

Are you making resolutions for 2013?
Not really. Just want to be a multi-millionaire by this time next year…that’s all.

What are you hoping for from 2013?

Get an agent, get published, get drunk, get rich, get an Aston Martin, get more royalties than I could ever possibly spend, get Mike Ashley/Derek Llambias in a boxing ring, get another interview this time next year and be just as chuffed with 2013 as I am with 2012. Cheers. Laughing

Check out Andy’s Amazon Author page for information about his literary works: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Andy-Rivers/e/B00873WHEE/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1353956806&sr=1-2-ent

Leave a Reply

