Gill Hoffs’s Review of 2012.


Gill Hoffs is an up ‘n’ coming writer that I’m sure you’ll all be familiar with this time next year. Gill has just signed with Pen & Sword’s Social History imprint. They are looking forward to releasing her book in January 2014. Check out how her 2012 has been.

2012 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

It’s been delightfully busy, yes!  Hmm, I’m torn between a few – alright, a lot of – highlights, mostly relating to my book “Wild: a collection” (out now from Pure Slush). Taking my son for a long walk along Ayr beach looking for – and finding – the cover shot, building sandcastles, and throwing pebbles in the water?  Having the first box of books delivered?  The speech by Matt Potter (my hunky Australian editor/publisher) at the launch party, the book-cover-cake, the readings, and fun with SO many friends I couldn’t quite believe it?  Selling “Wild” alongside “The Irresistible Mr Wrong” by my hero Jeremy Scott at his London launch party – and giving a copy to Nic Roeg of “Don’t Look Now” fame (he approved of my tomato red hair)?  Giving a copy to another of my heroes, the lovely Iain Banks, at Glasgow’s Weegie Wednesday night – without explaining that my broken specs weren’t usually held together with dental floss and blu-tack?  Becoming co-editor at Spilling Ink Review alongside Amy Burns?  Having my work beautifully illustrated in Lost In Thought magazine? Working with Literary Orphans?  I think I might go with the whirlwind of “Wild”.  Yes.  That’s the one.

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?

Despite being close to the sea, family, fried pizza, and the glorious Carrick Hills we never felt at home in Scotland, so when my husband was offered a job in Manchester after 10 months in Ayr it made sense to move ‘home’ to Warrington.  Although the process was horrible, it’s just brilliant to be back beside the Mersey and only a couple of streets away from our old house, and surrounded by friends.  Sure, Obama’s re-election was a relief, and there’s a new series of ‘The Big Bang Theory’ to revel in, but returning to the town we never should have left is the best thing about 2012 for us.  That, and adopting a stumpy tailed cat called Coraline who has a ‘thing’ for yeast pate and stalks me as I work.

Favourite book in 2012?

I cuddled my own, does that count?  No?  Hmm, well, my little boy wrote something fairly disgusting called ‘The Big Bad Pig’ and illustrated it himself, including unusual porcine scenarios and plentiful poo.  I read a few cracking books this year, but that would have to be my favourite.

Favourite film of 2012?

‘Prometheus’ – not so much the feature itself as the ‘Happy Birthday David!’ teaser trailer that’s available online.  I watched it over and over on my laptop and marvelled at Fassbender and the creepy beauty of his performance.  I don’t get to the cinema often since I had my son, usually only for 10am re-runs of cheesy children’s movies, but I had to make an exception for ‘Prometheus’.  For all its flaws, I’m glad I did.

Favourite song of the year?

There’s three songs I can think of that I’ve looped while writing this year for different pieces (quite apart from Radiohead’s ‘OK Computer’ album for a book).  Marina and the Diamonds’ “I Am Not A Robot”, the Glee version of “Cough Syrup”, and Grizzly Bear’s “Ready Able”.  That’s about as current as I get – my heart’s still stuck in the indie scene of the 1990s.

Any downsides for you in 2012?

Lack of time.  Homesickness for Warrington (now resolved – yay!).

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

I have an ongoing, ever-increasing To Do list that I resolve to reduce on a daily basis.  I think my husband would like me to shave my legs more frequently.  That’s about it.

What are you hoping for from 2013?

An agent who feeds my Twix ’n’ Nutella habit and book deals aplenty – well, to have my Warrington crime thriller, children’s book, non-fiction Victorian shipwreck book, YA ghost story, and 1930s marine thriller novel sold and on a shelf near you!

Come and say hi or tell me a joke on Facebook or via a tweet @gillhoffs

My book ‘Wild: a collection’ is out now from Pure Slush, and available to buy here http://www.lulu.com/shop/gill-hoffs/wild/paperback/product-20190137.html or you can order it here: http://amzn.to/UDIPSO

Visit Gill’s site http://gillhoffs.wordpress.com/for further news in 2013. Here’s the link for Pen & Sword: http://www.pen-and-sword.co.uk/Pen-Sword-Social-History/i/28/

One response to “Gill Hoffs’s Review of 2012.

  1. Reblogged this on gillhoffs and commented:
    Delighted to be part of Vic Watson’s blog, reviewing my highlights of 2012.

Leave a Reply

