Linda MacDonald’s Review of 2012.


Another one of my Twitter chums, Linda MacDonald – author of ‘A Meeting of a Different Kind’ and ‘Meeting Lydia’ – has taken some time out of her very busy schedule to tell us about her 2012.

2012 has been a great year for you, hasn’t it?

I think ‘interesting and challenging’ would be a more accurate description!

Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

My first Waterstones book signing in the Croydon branch was special because it made me feel like a proper author. I shall ever be grateful to them for giving me the opportunity.

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?

The Olympic Team GB Equestrian gold, early in the games, fired the mood that banished the blues for that special chunk of summer.

Favourite book in 2012?

This is really tricky but I will have to say ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’. Not a genre I generally choose to read, but it was recommended to me and once I got into it, I liked it very much. However, as it took me months to read the trilogy, it has unfortunately left little time for other books. In 2013, I would like to explore the independent market more fully.

Favourite film of 2012?

I am taking a chance here by saying it will be ‘Life of Pi’. Loved the book, seen trailers, and Ang Lee is sure to make it magical.

Favourite song of the year?

Alan Price’s version of Bob Dylan’s, ‘The Girl from the North Country’ is beautiful and evocative. It is a song of lost love and this keyboard arrangement is particularly poignant and deserves to be heard.

Any downsides for you in 2012?

Health issues.

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

Restrict time on Twitter – and complete Lydia 3. One probably necessary for the other.

‘Cease the roofbrain chatter.’ A problem I share with Marianne in ‘Meeting Lydia’. It is a resolution every year. I conquor it for a while and then I lapse.

Be more disciplined about dark chocolate Toblerones.

What are you hoping for from 2013?

At a professional level, I have had in 2012 some fantastic support and opportunities given by people who were prepared to take a chance on an unknown author. But in 2013, I would hope some of the still-closed doors will open more easily.

I hope for continuing widening of the readership of my novels and – no doubt every author’s dream – a snowballing of sales!

I hope for surprises and unforseen opportunities.

At a personal level, I hope for health and calm; and at a global level, I wish for sincere effort to preserve our fragile world.

Download ‘Meeting Lydia’ now: http://amzn.to/V2zQXI

Or order your copy here: http://amzn.to/SlPeRP

Download ‘A Meeting of a Different Kind’ here: http://amzn.to/V2zTTs

Or order your paper copy here: http://amzn.to/SlPlgb 

One response to “Linda MacDonald’s Review of 2012.

  1. Excellent post. I enjoy reading your writing very much.

    Thank you for posting this. Have a great day. I’ll be back for more.

Leave a Reply

