Malcolm Holt’s Review of 2012


Today, I have yet another great writer from the North-East on the blog. Malcolm is a familiar face on the literary scene in and around Newcastle and he’s got some pretty cool chums who appear on his blog. Malcolm Holt is here to talk about his 2012.

Malcolm

 

2012 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

I guess having the three crime ‘books’ (‘Hard Drive’, ‘Red Light’ & ’27’) self-published this year was a great achievement for me. Getting them written in the first place was quite something. I have never actually seen myself as a crime writer as such, hence I redesigned my blog into an interview site: http://malcolmholtsunnysideofthestreet.blogspot.co.uk/. Now that has been memorable and remains so. I’ve interviewed many great authors, from both sides of the Atlantic, and now I’m getting guests who are stars from US television, musicians, and Las Vegas headliners. That’s pretty cool.

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?

I suppose the obvious ones are the Olympics and the US election, but I will say driving down the Florida scenic highway from Miami to Key West, with the Atlantic on one side and the Gulf of Mexico on the other. Key West is a fascinating place. I got to see Hemingway’s old haunts and to drink with some local writers.

Favourite book in 2012?

Umm…..a difficult one. I’ve enjoyed Mari Hannah’s two books and Ian Rankin’s new one. If I have to stick my neck out, I will say ‘No Angel’ by Jay Dobyns and Nils Johnson. It’s about an undercover US cop who infiltrates the Hells Angels.  It’s been around for a while, but I only got to read it recently and it’s a good book.

Favourite film of 2012?

I never go the cinema these days. I tend to wait for the DVD…..or Christmas. My all-time favourite film is ‘Dirty Harry’, if that helps?

Favourite song of the year?

Well, that never changes from year to year. I really enjoy the US television series ‘Sons of Anarchy’, so it would be the theme to that. It’s a song called ‘This Life’ by Curtis Stigers and the Forest Rangers. I do like listening to the White Buffalo as well. He has a unique voice and sings with great passion.

Any downsides for you in 2012?

The awful UK weather! Mind you, it makes people gloomy and miserable, so for a writer of dark stories, that can be quite a motivator. Looking back, 2012 has been pretty kind to me and my family.

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

No. I always break them.

What are you hoping for from 2013?

Well, I recently interviewed one of the cast members from ‘Sons of Anarchy’ and I would love to see where the television series is filmed. Most indoor shots are filmed at Occidental Studios in Hollywood, but the outdoor scenes are filmed on location to the north of Hollywood. Apparently, it is really beautiful up there. As for the writing, I’ve got more celebrity interviews lined up and maybe I’ll find the time and the imagination to write a dark story or two.

For links to all of Malcolm’s titles, visit his Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Malcolm-Holt/e/B0034PHH2M/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Leave a Reply

