Mari Hannah’s Review of 2012


Over the last couple of years, I’ve built up some amazing friendships via Twitter. Some of those people, I’ve never met but over the last twelve months, I’ve met lots of my lovely Twitter chums. Very few are as lovely as Mari Hannah and that’s why I’ve invited her on the blog to review her 2012.

2012 has been an amazing year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally? 

After years of hard work, seeing my debut novel ‘The Murder Wall’ finally make it into print was very special. As you know – because you were there! – the title was launched at Hexham Book Festival. The event was a sell-out. It doesn’t get any better than that.

Mari's book launch

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?

For me, that would be the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee. It was lovely to see so many people celebrating Her Majesty’s reign, not just on The Mall in London, but right across the country. She’s a much-loved monarch. My dad was a guardsman and I was brought up on ceremonial occasions like Trooping the Colour – it’s in the blood. Unfortunately, I was on holiday in Majorca and only saw it on TV. It made me homesick.

Courtesy of Claudia van der Werf (@claudiavdwerf)

Courtesy of Claudia van der Werf (@claudiavdwerf)

Favourite book in 2012?

I haven’t read it yet but it will be ‘The Black Box’ by Michael Connelly. I love his writing and his character, Harry Bosch. I can’t wait to read it.

Favourite film of 2012?

‘Skyfall’ has to be up there. I wasn’t a big fan of early Bond movies. 007 was always too slick, too perfect, pretty unbelievable really. The new Bond is more edgy, fallible even. I loved the fact that he returned to his roots in this film. The images of Glen Coe were amazing. Shame about M though. Sob.

Favourite song of the year?

I’m not sure when this song came out but when I heard Emeli Sandé sing ‘Read All About It’ at the 2012 Olympics it brought me to tears. I thought she was amazing. I’m not surprised that she was influenced by Nina Simone and Joni Mitchell.

The Murder Wall

Any downsides for you in 2012?

Not having a lot of time to spend with my family. I’ve written one book, edited two in the past year and appeared at many festivals up and down the country, hardly stopping for breath. Fortunately, my family are very supportive; they understand how important it is for me to promote my work – but I’m always conscious that it’s time you can’t get back. They know I’ll make it up to them … eventually!

Settled Blood

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

I never make resolutions. They’re counter-productive in my experience, broken within days or even hours after being made. Who wants to start a new year feeling like a failure?

What are you hoping for from 2013?

Same again please.

Order your copy of ‘The Murder Wall’ here: http://amzn.to/X9jjXP or download it here: http://amzn.to/Wk4OkT

Download ‘Settled Blood’ here: http://amzn.to/REpwE8 or order your copy here: http://amzn.to/X9jwKw

Leave a Reply

