Luca Veste’s Review of 2012.


2012 has been a pretty great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?
It would have to be getting the phone call from my agent, Philip Patterson, offering representation. I’ve been in contact with him since February this year, and gone through three different versions of a book with him, before finally getting it right. He called, we ripped the book apart for 45 minutes, and then he said he wanted to represent me. A massive moment. A few more weeks of work on it, and it’s now out there on submission. Which is a really strange feeling.
And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?
It came down to two, and both are sport related. Narrowly missing out, is Liverpool winning the League Cup, and seeing King Kenny Dalglish with another trophy (albeit the smallest of the ones available). Pipping it to the post however, is the Saturday night at the Olympics, when Mo Farah, Jessica Ennis and poor Greg Rutherford (remember him?) all won gold within an hour of each other. Mainly for Mo. That dude is the best.
Favourite book in 2012?
Again, it’s between two. ‘Gone Girl’ by Gillian Flynn blew me away. An astounding piece of writing, which simultaneously inspired me and also made me want to give up writing. However, Steve Mosby’s ‘Dark Room’ wins out. I was convinced Steve couldn’t beat ‘Black Flowers’, or even my early favourite of his ‘The 50/50 Killer’, but with ‘Dark Room’, he produced an incredible novel. The best crime writer around, by a long way, for my money. He has a way of making what could be, in other hands, a bog standard serial killer novel into so much more. His use of language and imagery is genius. 
Favourite film of 2012?
I don’t watch many films to be honest. Never have time with two small kids running about the place. I’ve not been the picture house all year, and the newest film I’ve seen recently was ‘Inception’. So I’ll cheat and choose that one.
Favourite song of the year?
Not a big fan of new music. The only band I seek out new stuff from is Muse. My favourite on their new album is ‘Survival’. It’s Muse going full Queen, and being gloriously pompous and epic. Love it.
Any downsides for you in 2012?
Not really. It’s been a really good year. The release of ‘Off The Record 2’ and getting my own book finished made any minor niggles fade into nothingness.
Are you making resolutions for 2013?
I don’t make resolutions. I prefer to just keep on, keeping on.
What are you hoping for from 2013?
I finally convince Stephen King to write a short story for the ‘Off The Record’ oeuvre.
Visit Luca’s Amazon Author Page for more info on his books: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Luca-Veste/e/B005URYKFE/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_10   
Leave a Reply

