Ian Ayris’s Review of 2012.


Today we have the mighty Ian Ayris on the blog to talk about his incredible 2012. 

Ian Ayris

2012 has been a pretty great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

That’s a hard one, Vic. There’s been loads this year – from holding my debut novel in my hands to reaching number one in the Sports Fiction chart, to standing at Romford Waterstones at my first ever book signing. But my favourite moment has to be something that took place just a few days ago – a book signing at my beloved Dagenham & Redbridge F.C. An incredible experience.  One I will never forget. The books flew off the table, and we beat Barnet one-nil into the bargain, with a Matt Saunders blast from the edge of the area. Heaven, indeed. Come On You Daggers!!!!

Abide with Me

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally? 

I don’t take too much notice of the outside world, if I’m honest, Vic. But going to the Olympic Stadium to watch a day at the Paralympics was incredibly inspirational. 

Favourite book in 2012?

Really hard one, this. I’ve read loads of authors new to me this year – standouts include Les Edgerton, Josh Stallings, and Gerard Brennan. Can’t choose between them, so I’m going for one from each: ‘Fireproof’, Gerard Brennan – ‘Beautiful, Naked & Dead’, Josh Stallings – ‘The Bitch’.

Favourite film of 2012? 

I don’t really watch as many films as I should. But I did see ‘Badlands’ for the first time – and thought it was stunning.

Favourite song of the year?

Not quite a song, but my favourite musical thing this year has to be my discovery of Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 8, played by the Borodin Quartet. Just incredible.

Any downsides for you in 2012? 

There never is a downside, Vic. To anything. Just takes a shift to the left and a blink of the eye and the whole world can be whatever you want it to be.

Are you making resolutions for 2013? 

To take writing more seriously, and less as a pastime. 

Uncle Mildred

What are you hoping for from 2013? 

If all goes well, I’m hoping to finish the sequel to ‘Abide With Me’, knock out a novella, and also publish another short story collection. A lot of the depends, obviously, on the success I have regards the previous question.

You can read Ian’s blog at www.ianayris.com 

Visit his Amazon Author Page at: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ian-Ayris/e/B004RQO13K/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Leave a Reply

