Carol Fenwick’s Review of 2012.


Are you still feasting on leftovers? Have you been to the sales yet? Carol Fenwick has taken some time out of her Christmas hols to review her 2012 for us.

Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

Yes, it has been a very good year. There are a couple of memories that stick out above others notably having my literary review for the previous issue of Beautiful Scruffiness published in the current one by Katie Metcalfe, involvement with Simon James’ Ménage a moi project where we exchanged a photograph for a hand-made gift, two of my self-publications, ‘Standing on my Soap-Box’, a selection of poetry and ‘Squiggles’, a series of  short stories about my three-year old son Samuel, and a surprise meeting with a professional editor and social entrepreneur really threw the cat amongst the pigeons.

And how about a favourite moment from 2012 generally?

Living in London during the Olympics and Paralympics was absolutely fantastic, and I’m not just saying that to show off, London  really was buzzing. Although I re-located there from Middlesbrough in 2009 I am finally just about finding my feet, after the friendliness of the north-east it is so cosmopolitan, now people have finally got to understand my accent, had to drop a few a’s and that though I honestly haven’t gone posh!  My husband, Simon and I were lucky enough to get tickets for the Olympic Volleyball, it was the perfect anniversary present. Looking after a three-year old and living with my in-laws, it is a very busy and jam-packed house at the best of times though we were all really pleased to see Obama get back in. Phew!

Favourite book in 2012?

‘Love Wins’ by Rob Bell, I reviewed it for the local Church Magazine, a real find and great as a self-help guide.

Favourite film of 2012?

‘The Iron Lady’ was much better than I expected.

Favourite song of the year?

I’m getting out of touch but my favourites are anything from Adele or Emile Sande, the fact that I can’t even think of a song, doesn’t say much for the year in music for me, but I guess I have little time for this, potty training Samuel is an ongoing saga in between snatches of Radio 2. God, I am getting old!

Any downsides for you in 2012?

Some projects have not come off, which can be really frustrating for everyone concerned.

Are you making resolutions for 2013?

No, I never make them as I am rubbish at keeping them!

What are you hoping for from 2013?

Finishing off collating all my works, a mammoth project in itself, though it’s helping me de-clutter and say goodbye to some ancient writing notebooks that go back to my late teens. It’s a bit sad saying goodbye but the PC is the ultimate clutter buster. I hope to finally master Kindle and send some works off to publishers which I hope will make 2013 a fantastic success.

You can find out more about Carol writing on her blogs www.carolfenwick.wordpress.com and www.differentplanetandshadowsoftime.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

