Five Things I’d Like to Tell my Teen Self.


On this, the eve of my 29th birthday, I had decided to have an early night to recover from my “busy” couple of days and make sure I’m bright-eyed and bushy-tailed for tomorrow. However, a post by author Jane Green  on Facebook caught my eye. She posted  five things she would tell the ‘teen her’. I thought I would give it a try particularly as in 366 days I will leave my twenties behind and feel I have a fair bit of perspective on my teenage years now.

So, here are the five things I’d like to tell my teen self:

  1. Don’t confuse attraction with love. You will fancy plenty of men but that does not equate to love. Love is a bigger concept than you could possibly grasp right now. Sorry to be patronising but I’m right.
  2. Being a WAG is not a good life – or career – choice. You would never fit into that world, and thank god. Posh Spice isn’t a great role model. 
  3. The thing that makes you happy will not necessarily be the thing you do for money. 
  4. You will be thankful for that over-active imagination one day. Use it for creativity – not for negativity. 
  5. You are not fat. I’d kill to look how I did at 16 (apart from the bingers, they are not good; see below for proof).

Me, aged 16

Lots of love,

You

Aged 28 years and 365 days. 

2 responses to “Five Things I’d Like to Tell my Teen Self.

  1. We were all duped in to thinking that bingers would “frame your face”, you are not alone 🙂

  2. Thanks for popping over to my blog Vic and it is great to have you visit. I love your 5 things to tell your teen self. Never thought about it before, now I am having a good think…..there is so much, more than 5 things I think. However, I fear that if I had known then what I know now I may well not be in a position to be typing this and blogging too. Different paths and all that. Loved reading this, great to find you here.

Leave a Reply

