Bea Davenport reviews her 2013.


To kick off our month of 2013 reviews, we have the lovely Bea Davenport joining us today. Bea has had an awesome year and she’s here to tell us all about it.

Vic x

Bea at her book launch in  2013

2013 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

In fact, I have two real high spots. The first has to be the publication of my first novel, In Too Deep. It was really exciting working with Legend Press in the run-up to the launch, and the event itself at Blackwells in Newcastle went so well.

The second high spot was getting the call from Curious Fox offering me a publication deal on my children’s novel, The Serpent House. I wrote this historical fantasy as part of my Creative Writing PhD at Newcastle University and I really wanted it to find a publisher, so that was a real champagne moment.

How about a favourite moment from 2013 generally? 

It has to be that wonderful summer we had. After all those gloomy years and that long, cold spring, it was absolutely glorious, wasn’t it? I wouldn’t mind another one like that.

Favourite book in 2013?

Always a tough one. I was very taken with Maggie O’Farrell’s Instructions for a Heatwave, although it helped that I read it on holiday because I always feel well-disposed to anything read in a horizontal position, through sunglasses.

Favourite film of 2013?

Agh! I was asked this last year and realised I hadn’t been to the cinema at all during 2012. In shame, I made a New Year’s resolution to see more films in 2013. Big fat FAIL. But I do have a favourite film, because I watched Ken Loach’s Spirit of ’45 on DVD, about the establishment of the welfare state after the end of the Second World War. It managed to be depressing and inspiring at the same time.

Favourite song of the year?

Falling by Haim (my new favourite band).

Any downsides for you in 2013?

I do feel as if I have been frantically busy all of the time, with barely a break. Like most writers, the pressure of making a living can make it hard to find time to write, especially new material. I think many of us imagine that getting a publishing deal will buy time to write, but for most of us the deals will never meet the mortgage.

In Too Deep is available now.

Are you making resolutions for 2014?

Hah. Look what happened to the one about the cinema! I’d like to say I will stop being so worrisome, but that would involve a personality transplant, so I probably shouldn’t bother. ‘Keep going’ is about as much as I dare to promise!

What are you hoping for from 2014? 

I have two books due for publication in 2014 – The Serpent House in June and a second crime/suspense novel for Legend Press in October. My hope is that both of these do well. And I would really like a holiday (please!).

If Santa was to bring you any one thing you wanted on Xmas morning, what would it be?

It would be the time-turner that Hermione used in Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. It meant she could do more things in every day than normal time would allow. It would be very handy, I think. On the other hand, we all know how destabilising time magic can be, so a spa voucher would do instead.

Visit Bea’s website at http://www.beadavenport.com/index.html

Bea Davenport is the pseudonym of Barbara Henderson.

Leave a Reply

