Sharon Jones reviews her 2013.


Today, the super strong Sharon Jones is here to review her 2013. This year has been very significant for Sharon in many ways. You can read her blog at http://shazkira.wordpress.com/
Vic x
Sharon Jones
Do you have a favourite memory professionally?
March 2013 saw the end of my 15 year career with HMV. A bittersweet memory of having to tell my staff they no longer had jobs and how they all managed to keep smiling and working hard through the tears till the last minute of the last day. An honour to work with such strong individuals.
And how about a favourite moment from 2013 generally?
So many amazing memories. But the favourite has to be the 29th June 2013 when I married the man I love. We had a festival themed day which we named ‘Wedstock’. The old cliche is that it’s the happiest day of your life, well, it  totally was. I wish I could relive it over and over again.
Wedstock
Favourite book in 2013?
It was originally released in 1982 but I managed to find a copy this year and had a marvellous trip down memory lane.
Favourite film of 2013?
A latecomer to the party but I recently saw ‘Thor 2: The Dark World’ and it was fantastic. Almost as good as ‘Avengers Assemble’ but not quite. Still an awesome film and deserves many pats on backs.
Favourite song of the year?
Whilst thinking of a new 80’s set list for when I DJ at Envy in Romford next, I stumbled upon this absolute tune and then proceeded to listen to it on repeat for weeks. I originally heard a very sped up version in the 80’s classic ‘Girls just want to have fun’.
Any downsides for you in 2013?
Simultaneously losing my job and being diagnosed with cervical cancer was the lowest point in my life so far. It was a very challenging time as it felt like everything was falling apart. I am so very lucky that they caught it early enough to remove it successfully and just in time for me to be able to walk around and dance at my wedding. 
Article
Are you making resolutions for 2014?
No resolutions. I think we should all make changes when they are needed, not purely when a new year rings in.
What are you hoping for from 2014?
Health and happiness. I’d wish for money but I need to earn that. I think I’m due some of the former though.
If Santa was to bring you any one thing you wanted on Xmas morning, what would it be?
To wake up in my old bedroom and to have Christmas Day at my mum and dad’s just like when I was younger.
Leave a Reply

