Rebecca Muddiman reviews her 2013.


Rebecca Muddiman’s debut novel ‘Stolen’ got me completely hooked (even though my dad revealed whodunnit). So I’m really excited to have Rebecca reviewing her 2013 on the blog today. 
Vic x
Rebecca Muddiman
2013 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?
 
It has been a really great year so it’s hard to choose one favourite. I had my first book, Stolen, published by Moth Publishing; I signed up with my agent, Stan, from Jenny Brown Associates; and I’ve just signed something I’m not sure I’m allowed to reveal yet – but I’m excited! But I think my favourite memory is perhaps seeing my novel for the first time as a proper book with a lovely cover and everything!
 
Stolen
And how about a favourite moment from 2013 generally?
 
This probably reveals how unexciting my non-writing life is but I think my favourite moment was discovering Breaking Bad and watching the entire thing in eleven days. I know people get sick of other people banging on about it and it’s just a TV show. But it’s a f***ing amazing TV show.
 
Favourite book in 2013?
 
Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. I loved it.
 
Favourite film of 2013?
 
That’s a hard one as there’s been a few good ones this year. I’ve just seen Gravity which was unbelievable in terms of visuals. But Philomena was great in every way. I rarely cry at films but this one got me. Also, an honourable mention to Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa. 
 
Favourite song of the year?
 
Ooh… maybe something from Run Fast by The Julie Ruin.
 
Any downsides for you in 2013?
 
No more Breaking Bad.
 
Are you making resolutions for 2014?
 
I’m sure I will and I’m sure I won’t keep them. They’ll probably involve doing some exercise, stopping drinking pop, and getting on with writing the book about my travels in America and the various screenplay ideas I have. At least three of those things won’t happen. Maybe four.
 
What are you hoping for from 2014?
 
To get better at writing. To be more productive with my writing time. To have as much fun at Harrogate crime festival as I did this year. And for the government to realise the world doesn’t revolve around upper-class white men. At least one of those will never, ever happen.
 
If Santa was to bring you any one thing you wanted on Xmas morning, what would it be?
A note from Jesse Pinkman telling me he’s alright.
You can visit Rebecca’s website at  http://rebeccamuddiman.wordpress.com/

Catch her on Twitter too: @RebeccaMuddiman
Leave a Reply

