Nick Quantrill reviews his 2013.


Over the last few years, I’ve had the privilege of meeting lots of great writers at different events. Nick Quantrill is one of those writers. Not only is he a smashing writer but he’s a lovely guy too. Here’s Nick on how 2013 has treated him.

Vic x

Nick Quantrill

2013 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally? 

It’s been a busy year and I’ve had the good fortune to travel around a bit. Crimefest in Bristol was a great event and my library visits confirmed what a disgrace it is to be closing so many. I never expected to be talking about my work in Reykjavik as part of Iceland Noir, so that will live long in the memory. That said, the publication of “The Crooked Beat” (Caffeine Nights) was the highlight of the year. Seeing your work published is what it’s all about.

And how about a favourite moment from 2013 generally? 

I’m going to be really shallow and say Hull City’s promotion back to the Premier League was a bit special. Sadly, it’s all gone a bit wrong with the ‘branding’ of the club to Hull Tigers, but you can’t take memories away. My daughter is now a fully fledged toddler, so watching her develop throughout the year has been amazing. Can I have another? The way Hull has come together to back the bid to become 2017 City of Culture has been amazing. Win or lose, there’s an energy around the place.

The Crooked Beat

Favourite book in 2013?

I’ve read several great crime novels this year, both new and established authors, but as a massive Beatles fan, “Tune In” by Mark Lewisohn was an absolute treat. It’s 900 pages long and only covers to the end of 1962, but it as well describing their rise to fame in detail, it has context. If you’re a fan, you need to read this book.

Favourite film of 2013?

I’m not really a film watcher. I much prefer box-sets as a general rule. I saw the Alan Partridge movie and it was a lot better than I anticipated. I also saw “Get Carter” on the big screen for the first time. It never gets old.

Favourite song of the year?

It was a privilege to back one of my favourite artists, Chris Mills, via a Kickstarter campaign. Chris is a real working musician, so things like this can make a real difference. The album I backed, “Alexandria” is a stunning piece of work. If you like singer-songwriters and bands like Wilco, you’ll like this. “Castaways” is the first single from the record. 

Any downsides for you in 2013?

Not really. No doubt like all writers, a few more hours in the day would be welcome, but all you can do is the make the most of what you have. Write the best you can, take all the opportunities that are presented to you and enjoy the success of others. That keeps me sane.

Are you making resolutions for 2014?

I don’t believe in them.

What are you hoping for from 2014?

Nothing beyond writing better and finishing the next novel. I had no idea that I would visit some of the places I did this year, so I’m looking forward to seeing what I can make happen in 2014.

If Santa was to bring you any one thing you wanted on Xmas morning, what would it be?

I’m fine. I’ll be happy if he brings my daughter everything she wants!

For more information, visit Nick’s website – www.nickquantrill.co.uk

Leave a Reply

