Pete Sortwell reviews his 2013.


Pete Sortwell has had a pretty amazing year. Here he is to tell us about it.
Vic x
Pete Sortwell
 
2013 has been a really great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally? 
I think hitting ten thousand sold self published books is the favourite, although seeing ‘So Low, So High’ published in June is a VERY close second. Both things were complete pipe dreams less three years ago. I was writing about the beginning of my journey recently as I’m putting all my old short stories out. It took me back to how I used to feel, how I was too scared to tell anyone I was writing in case they took the piss. The shift hasn’t just been in my thinking but also my output has changed so much.
Professionally, I’ve also finally made it into a management position in my ‘real’ job. I get to train people to be peer mentors for others who are either in, or heading, for recovery from drugs and/or alcohol. While doing this, I realised just how much I’ve learned along the way. One of the things I also get to do is run a creative writing group.
The only thing I need to look at now is my work life balance, as at present it’s pretty work heavy. I’m not sure what the answer is though, slowing down on the writing probably. We’ll see.
Short Stories
And how about a favourite moment from 2013 generally?

Royal Baby, Pft. Sortwell baby. March 19th at 4.02am, my daughter was born. It’s something that’s changed my life, probably drove me to work harder than I’ve ever worked before. I spent much of my early adult years seeing things get broken, so to see Lilly grow is something I’m glad I get to see everyday. She’s going to be as much as a handful as I was (well, hopefully not THAT much) but she’s great and I love her and her mum to bits. Every day I see her with my parents or speaking to Lucie’s on Skype (bashing the laptop) is a favourite moment.

Favourite book in 2013?
The Henry Root Letters‘. I know it wasn’t released in 2013 but it’s my favourite read this year. There were a few people that mentioned either in reviews or in emails that the ‘Idiot Reviews‘ reminded them of those books so I had a look and they’re great. I’m pleased to have been compared to such a good writer as Willie Donaldson. Although I hope I don’t end up like he did.
Favourite film of 2013?

Erm, I’ve gone downhill in my film watching this year, I think it’s because I watch them at home now and am always working at the same time, so I lose track. ‘The Purge‘ was OK.

Favourite song of the year?

Headlights by Eminem. It’s powerful apology to his Mother.

Any downsides for you in 2013?
Being tired all the time, but I know it’ll be worth it in the end.
Are you making resolutions for 2014?

Nope, I never stick to them, I hope it’ll be 2014 that I manage to sort out the work life balance, but we’ll see.

What are you hoping for from 2014?

More book sales would be nice. My absolute dream for any year is to either enter the top 100 on Kindle overall chart or to top the humour chart, which I’d be happy for any year.

If Santa was to bring you any one thing you wanted on Xmas morning, what would it be?

A remote control car big enough to put Lilly in and drive her about. Oh, and an elf outfit to put her in too, I’ve already got my Santa kit.

Click here for a full list of Pete’s available work:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=pete+sortwell 

Leave a Reply

