Stuart Ayris reviews his 2013.


Stuart Ayris is another of my writer mates who has been particularly prolific in 2013. Here, he shares his 2013 memories with us.

Vic x

2013 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

Professionally? I have no idea what that word means! In terms of writing, I guess it has to be a few paragraphs I’ve written for the book I’m writing at the moment. It’s all a bit wonderfully weird and I am madly in love with it. The working title is ‘The Magical, Tragical Life of Edward Jarvis Huggins’ – a title of which I am particularly proud!

And how about a favourite moment from 2013 generally?

The start that Dagenham & Redbridge FC have made to the League 2 campaign. We were favourites to go down, yet (as of writing this) we are currently in the play-off positions. Young team, young manager, good looking fans… Come on lads!

Favourite book in 2013?

Easy – ‘Butterfly Winter‘ by WP Kinsella. How it has sold so few copies is beyond me. Just goes to show that sales are not – and will never be – the measure of great writing. Gives me hope anyhow! But what a beautiful, genius book.

Favourite film of 2013?

Beasts of the Southern Wild‘ – remarkable!

Favourite song of the year?

Jungleland by Bruce Springsteen at The Ricoh Arena in Coventry on 20th June. Mindblowing wonderjoy of the highest high.

Any downsides for you in 2013?

Getting knocked out of the FA Cup by Bristol City.

Are you making resolutions for 2014?

I wake up every morning telling myself I’ll drink less today and be more sensible – I should imagine that 2014 won’t be much different.

What are you hoping for from 2014?

England to win the world cup, my new novel to be completed and Oaklands CC (the cricket team organised by me and my mates) to see much fun and maybe the odd victory!

If Santa was to bring you any one thing you wanted on Xmas morning, what would it be?

A monthly bus pass to save me scouring the house for change every morning just so I can get to work. Oh and a contraption to stop me hitting 5s and 1s when I play darts. That would be fantastic!

Check out Stuart’s Amazon page for info on his books: http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&field-author=Stuart%20Ayris&search-alias=digital-text&sort=relevancerank

Leave a Reply

