Graham Smith reviews his 2013.


Today the great Graham Smith reviews his year. Graham is a writer but this year has branched out into organising a great event for writers, too. OK, I’ll let him tell you about that.
Vic x
Graham Smith
2013 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?
My professional (writing) highlight of 2013 was the success of a weekend of crime writing masterclasses I arranged at the hotel I’m the General Manager of. As the GM, organiser and host I felt a great deal of pressure to make such the whole weekend ran smoothly, was informative and that all the attendees enjoyed themselves. Fortunately The Mill Forge has excellent staff and with their help and the excellent speakers we had , everything went to plan. Such was the success we are repeating the event on the 7-9th of March 2014. Full details can be found at http://www.crimeandpublishment.co.uk
We’re also running a competition where one lucky winner can win admission to the whole weekend’s courses. Details can be found at http://www.crimeandpublishment.co.uk/competition.html
 
And how about a favourite moment from 2013 generally? 
Every day I have a special moment, as my son is coming more and more into his own. He may only be eight, but he is intelligent, witty and really caring.
 
Favourite book in 2013?
The best book I’ve read in 2013 has to be ‘Close to the Bone‘ by Stuart MacBride, but there are many contenders for this position.
Eleven - HCC - Gutshots
 
Favourite film of 2013?
First Blood‘ because I don’t watch any new films. I have old stuff on in the background while I’m reading or writing.

Favourite song of the year?

My favourite song has to be something by anyone other than manufactured boy bands like McFly, Busted, One Direction or any of the other shite that’s out there.
Any downsides for you in 2013?
The biggest downside to 2013 is that I’ve fallen so in love with writing that I haven’t found enough time to write everything I want to.

Are you making resolutions for 2014?

I have resolved not to be resolute in 2014. Life’s too short. 

If Santa was to bring you any one thing you wanted on Xmas morning, what would it be?
I would like Santa to bring me a publishing deal, wrapped up in more spare time.
Leave a Reply

