Julia Crouch reviews her 2013.


Julia Crouch is one of my favourite authors. It’s a real pleasure to have her here to review her 2013.

Vic x

Julia Crouch

2013 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

There are a few: The launch of ‘Tarnished‘, my third novel, has to come top.

Completing my fourth novel, ‘The Long Fall‘, and the very favourable feedback from my editor is a close second. It’s such a scary moment when you hand in, and you are on tenterhooks until you hear the verdict. I was really pleased to find out that even P D James feels the same, even now:

“‘I never talk about a book before it is finished and I never show it to anybody until it is finished and I don’t show it to anybody even then, except for my publisher and my agent. Then there is this awful time until they phone. I’m usually pretty confident by the time I’ve sent it in but I have those moments when I think, ‘well I sent it to them on Friday, by Saturday night they should be ringing up to say how wonderful it is!'”
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-24867584)
I also loved all the festivals I went to this year, including Stratford Literature Festival (of which I am a patron), Crimefest, Theakston’s Old Peculiar Crime writing festival at Harrogate, Bloody Scotland, Northwich. It’s great to get away from the desk sometimes and meet up with other writers.
Tarnished

 

And how about a favourite moment from 2013 generally? 

My mind has gone blank. I can’t think of any good news at all that happened in 2013. Is that terribly nihilistic? Economically, environmentally, psychologically, politically, it seems the world is just falling down a plug hole of its own making. It was lovely for two young people to have a baby, and I wish them well, but I can’t see how it has any bearing on the lives of British people. I suppose the discourse around Russell Brand’s interview with Jeremy Paxman http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rcHtddfG98w (Preview) was quite heartening. Not that I agree with not voting. But I can’t imagine anyone will actually do anything. We’re all too sedated by our technology. Next question!

 

Favourite book in 2013?

The Shining Girls‘ kept me utterly gripped all the way through

And I loved Erin Kelly’s ‘The Burning Air‘.

I also re-read both ‘The Secret History‘ and ‘The Great Gatsby‘ and they have totally stood the test of time. Both are complete masterpieces. I’m looking forward to reading ‘The Goldfinch‘ over Christmas. Though I always kid myself I’ll have time for reading, but, with several generations of a large family to cater for I always tend to go overboard with the cooking and preparations and hardly sit down for the entire holiday period.

Favourite film of 2013?

I loved ‘Before Midnight‘. And I just can’t wait for Anchorman 2! I do hope it’s not a disappointment…
And 2013 was the year of ‘Breaking Bad‘ for me. About the best TV I have ever watched.
Favourite song of the year?
‘Push the Sky Away’, the last track of Nick Cave and the Bad Seed’s album of the same name. In fact, the whole album.

Any downsides for you in 2013?

A very close friend killed himself. That was a *major* downside, and set quite a few of his friends, myself included, off track for a while. We gave him a great send-off though – a massive bonfire, fireworks and ceremony on Brighton beach, attended by hundreds. That helped, and in some strange way it was rather wonderful too.

Are you making resolutions for 2014?

The usual: run more, write more, drink less, eat more healthily. I might keep to the writing one…

What are you hoping for from 2014?

To write my fifth book. To have fun. To stay healthy and happy, and for my kids to continue to do well.
Also, there’s something rather exciting happening at this year’s Brighton festival. It’s not official yet, but look out for Dark and Stormy Brighton. That’s all I can say right now.
Leave a Reply

