Craig Lenaghan reviews his 2013.


Today we have Craig Lenaghan to review his 2013. Enjoy!

Vic x

Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

It’s a bit too difficult for me to choose just one moment – I’ve really enjoyed this year, so there have been too many great moments to choose from. Probably my favourite moments, though, have been getting several good short stories written, getting one of those stories published (at the time of typing, I’m preparing to get another two published) and reading out one of my short stories, ‘Duster’s Diary’, in Newcastle, Middlesbrough and Whitley Bay.

And how about a favourite moment from 2013 generally?

The professional moments mentioned above have also been the more general highlights for me, but if you want me to mention something non-professional, I’d say probably seeing one of my favourite comedians, Harry Hill, live in York in February.

Favourite book in 2013?

It wasn’t published this year, but my favourite book I’ve read this year has been ‘The Daughter of Time’ by Josephine Tey. It uses fiction to investigate the great historical mystery of what happened to the Princes in the Tower in 1483 and, as someone who is really interested in the mystery, I think it’s fascinating and puts forward some really interesting and apparently original ideas, even if some of its ideas have been discredited elsewhere since the book was first published in 1951.

Favourite film of 2013?

I can’t remember seeing any films in 2013 yet (at the time of typing this), but the film that I’m most looking forward to seeing before the end of the year is ‘The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug’. I watched the first film in this ‘The Hobbit’ trilogy last year and, having read the book, I’m interested to see how much Smaug features in the second film.

Favourite song of the year?

A song called ‘Inside a Dream’ on this year’s Pet Shop Boys album, ‘Electric’. The song’s lyrics quote part of a William Blake poem called ‘The Land of Dreams’ – a nice literary connection there.

Any downsides for you in 2013?

No big downsides spring to mind, unless you are counting silly stuff like “I ran out of milk and had to go out to buy some more”. I’m being pedantic, but you did say ‘any’ downsides…

Are you making resolutions for 2014?

I do tend to make resolutions, but I make them at any time I like, not just at the start of a year. In 2014 and beyond, I’m aiming to continue writing and getting published some more short stories and read out some more of my work at more live literary events.

What are you hoping for from 2014?

A year that is even more enjoyable and productive for me than 2013 has been. I want to continue developing as both a person and a writer.

If Santa was to bring you any one thing you wanted on Xmas morning, what would it be?

Basically just what I’ve already said I want for 2014, but if you mean a physical object, I’d say ‘Him Off the Viz‘, the autobiography of Viz comic co-founder Simon Donald. Partly just because I like Viz comic, but also because it’d be really interesting to learn how he got started with such a successful comic and all the interesting and funny stories he’s got to tell about being involved with it.

You can learn more about Craig’s written work by visiting his page on the Ether Books website at http://catalog.etherbooks.com/Authors/290. You can download some of his short stories using any of the Ether Books apps for iOS or Android.

Leave a Reply

