Mari Hannah reviews her 2013.


One more sleep! As a Christmas Eve treat, we have the lovely Mari Hannah, author of the very successful Kate Daniels books, to talk us through her 2013. 

Vic x

Mari wins her Polari

2013 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

Hi Vic, thanks for inviting me over. That is such a hard one to answer. This year has been amazing with so many firsts for me and for the Kate Daniels series . . .

My latest book, ‘Monument to Murder‘, is out in hardback. I’ve had three books published in the US – a tough market to crack – but the one that stands out is winning the Polari First Book Prize 2013 for my debut, ‘The Murder Wall‘. This gave me the opportunity to write for the Guardian (another first).

Polari Prize winner

And how about a favourite moment from 2013 generally? 

That would be on 7th December. I was on my way to a signing at Waterstones in Morpeth and tweeted this: Dear #NUFC – it would make my day if you could manage a win at Man U. Let’s make it twice in 4O odd visits. And Newcastle United actually went to Old Trafford and beat Manchester United. Just brilliant!

Favourite book in 2013?

Terry Hayes’ thriller ‘I Am Pilgrim’. It was touted as ‘the only thriller you need to read this year’ and it didn’t disappoint. It’s possibly the longest book I’ve ever read – 705 pages – but every one, indeed every word, earned its place. The film is written – what more can I say?

Mari receives her winnings

Speaking of which, what was your favourite film of 2013?

‘Django Unchained’ (Tarantino) a tense, emotional story about slavery.

Favourite song of the year?

Bruno Mars – ‘When I Was Your Man’ – I just love his voice. Makes me cry – I’m such a softie.

Monument to Murder

Any downsides for you in 2013?

None. I’m happy, healthy and so is all my family – although we had a slight wobble when I was called away from Crimefest because my Dad was very poorly. It was very distressing at the time but, thankfully, he’s still with us this Christmas.

Are you making resolutions for 2014?

I don’t make resolutions as a rule – they are too easy to make, even easier to break.

A nice little rhyme there, too. What are you hoping for from 2014?

More of the same please, although I cannot see how I could top this year’s achievements. I’d obviously love to see film rights sold. Kate Daniels is keen to show her face on TV.

If Santa was to bring you any one thing you wanted on Xmas morning, what would it be?

Snow! Merry Christmas Vic – hope to see you early in 2014.

Merry Christmas Mari, here’s to a successful 2014. 

Leave a Reply

