Allen Miles reviews his 2013.


Here’s another great writer to chat about his 2013. I give you the fab Allen Miles.

Vic x

Allen Miles

2013 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

I wouldn’t say it’s been a great year really because due to my obsessiveness and ludicrously high-standards my second book, This Is How You Disappear, isn’t quite finished yet. However, the success of the website I run with my bosom buddy Martyn has been a real point of optimism. We’ve just gone over the 20,000 hit mark. Not bad for nine months. It’s brought me a huge feeling of satisfaction to have been able to give people with untapped talent a platform to get noticed. Two of our writers have been on the BBC this year.

This is How You Disappear

And how about a favourite moment from 2013 generally? 

My friend Andrew and I met Will Self in February at a reading he gave in the Orchard Centre in North Hull. We spoke briefly over a cigarette after his show. He seemed like an extremely pleasant chap. Other than that, it was a real highlight to hear my daughter say “Daddy, I want to dance to ‘Show Me The Wonder’.”

Favourite book in 2013?

It didn’t come out in 2013 but ‘Collected Stories’ by Peter Carey is one that I’ve enjoyed thoroughly. I’m also thoroughly looking forward to Morrissey’s ‘Autobiography’, which I shall expect for Christmas.

Favourite film of 2013?

Again, not one from this year but ‘The Parallax View’ was one that I watched for the first time and thought was fantastic. It’s a really subversive conspiracy-thriller from the 70’s starring Warren Beatty.

Favourite song of the year?

There’s been some great albums released this year. I’ve enjoyed the My Bloody Valentine album, the new David Bowie, Queens Of The Stone Age, Suede and Nick Cave. The Nick Cave album in particular is superb, but I think the song I’ve listened to most this year is probably Sabotage by Suede so I’ll say that.

18 Days

Any downsides for you in 2013?

Jessie J is still getting on the telly. She’s ghastly isn’t she? I’m going to start writing letters…

Are you making resolutions for 2014?

Yes! I will finish my book, then we’ll be pushing forward with On The Swings Publications, which will be hopefully publishing at least two e-books in 2014. One will get immense critical acclaim, outrage from Daily Mail readers and very little sales. The other will sell loads if the writer in question ever finishes it!

What are you hoping for from 2014?

I’d like to start making a bit of money from what I’m doing, I’m well aware that there isn’t a great deal to be made if you’re in an awkward market but I have a very expensive taste in clothes and most of my trousers are falling to bits.

If Santa was to bring you any one thing you wanted on Xmas morning, what would it be?

Some new trousers.

I hope Santa sent Allen some new trousers! You can download Allen’s first book, 18 Days, now and he assures his next book ‘This is How You Disappear’ will be out in the next few weeks. He and his friends can be found ranting at http://www.sittingontheswings.com

Leave a Reply

