Luca Veste reviews his 2013.


Another one of my friends, Luca Veste, has had a  smashing 2013 (I’m hoping to become successful just by being mates with all of these clever people), here he is to tell us about it. 
Vic x
Luca Veste
2013 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?
The moment I signed the contract with Avon/HarperCollins for a two book deal. It was the first of many moments when I thought “Crikey…I’m going to have a book out!”
Dead Gone
And how about a favourite moment from 2013 generally? 
It’s a draw between Mo Farah winning the 5000 and 10000 metre finals at the World Championships, and Andy Murray winning Wimbledon. Murray arguably just wins for individual achievement, with the pressure that was on him. Both outstanding personal sporting achievements though.
Favourite book in 2013?
It’s been a really great year for books, with so many that could have made up a top 5 or 10. One book is head and shoulders above the rest though, and that’s The Cry by Helen FitzGerald. An incredible novel.
Favourite film of 2013?
Again, as with every year, I’ve barely watched anything newly released. I think I’ve been to see one new release in the picturehouse this year and that was the disappointing ‘At World’s End’. I’ll go with the film I watched for the first time this year (and cheat) which was The Dark Knight. Five years after everyone else saw it!
Favourite song of the year?
I very rarely listen to new music, but one song I love from this year is Roar by Katy Perry. Given my musical taste ranges from Pink Floyd to Gary Moore usually, this is a bit out of left-field, but I love the track. No idea why.
Any downsides for you in 2013?
I still haven’t invented a device which gives you more hours in a day. Very annoyed with myself. In reality, I did have surgery which left me being unable to do much for over a month. Other than that, no. It’s been a pretty incredible year for me.
Are you making resolutions for 2014?
I never make resolutions. They’re just things to break. I’d like to be playing footy every week by the end of Jan. And keep on keeping on.
What are you hoping for from 2014?
A continuation of the good feeling which has been prevailing in 2013. Oh, and certain politicians to have a change of heart, Scrooge style, over Christmas and stop targeting the most vulnerable in society.
If Santa was to bring you any one thing you wanted on Xmas morning, what would it be?
Football Manager 2014. I need a new thing to use as procrastination.
Leave a Reply

